We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daniel

Daniel
Reserve with OpenTable
Daniel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our first experience of a 3 Michelin Star restaurant to celebrate a 40th Birthday and we weren't disappointed. We started with a cocktail before we were seated in a restaurant that was full on a cold and wintery Monday evening. The cocktails were amazing - one had an orchid flower frozen in a ball of ice, the other was a mix of gin and basil....a perfect start to the evening! All of the staff were great - nothing was too much hassle. We had expected a little bit of a stiff response as it was a classy restaurant but we never got that which was really refreshing. The waiters were very informative and explained in detail each dish they served (even several times when we'd forgotten what they had said!). We chose the wine pairing option for each course - the sommelier explained each wine for all dishes and even came back and asked what we thought. Kevin made the evening for us - he was our "Captain" and it was obvious that he wanted to make the evening special for us. Whilst you don't get heaps of food, the quality was on a different scale. We had duo of Beef which fell apart and the Wagyu beef melted in your mouth, the langoustines for a starter were amazing. On top of the 3 courses we were also given petit fours and a special birthday cake - we hadn't said anything when we had booked but the team had found out while we were there. To cap it all, just when we thought the experience couldn't get any better Kevin came and presented us with a lovely copy of our menu choices for that evening for us to keep as a memory. Can't rate the experience highly enough!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpammyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,976
    316
    135
    48
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meals ever had in French restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Food 5
Service 5
Atmosphere 5
Value 5
Thank you all for a fantastic night.
This restaurant deserve five stars all the way

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Struzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“3 Star Michelin, 5 star experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This restaurant is almost worth a trip to NYC on its own!

My husband and I came to New York to celebrate his birthday, and I made this our first stop for dinner. What a bar was set by coming here first! Every decorative detail was lovely, the ambiance romantic and comfortable, the food fantastic, and the special dessert touches (including warm madelines) were absolutely charming and flavorful.

The waitress, the sommelier, indeed the entire staff were top notch and anticipated our needs before we even asked.

I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant looking for a wonderful experience. This restaurant certainly deserves its 3 stars!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great presentation, great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Was there on a recent Monday night with clients. After reading some of the other reviews I figured it would be very stuck up and snotty but it wasn't as bad as the other reviewers put. Yes it's French and a bit snotty, but the food, presentation are done very well. Courses were good and the small things they do after dinner with some additional small deserts was very nice. Not cheap by any means and we stayed away from the tasting menu and wine pairing, something to keep in mind if you have never been. The 3 course price fix was 125, which wasn't bad. If you did the tasting menu, 225 and then the wine pairing can be another 130-225 as well, keep that in mind. Men do need to be wearing jackets, environment is nice and it was busy for a Monday night. Had Kevin as our waiter who did a great job and had a personality compared to some of the other staff there. I wouldn't say it's the best or over the top, but one of the better places with great gourmet food. Solid wine list, but we stuck to cocktails, all in for 4 was a little more than a grand with tip, not too crazy. They do make one of the best Irish coffees I have ever had.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hondo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best chicken dish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We went to Daniel on my first trip to New York and are pleased with the excellent service and food.
The staff was professional and well informed with the food and beverage menu.
My starter was the terrine de foie gras, which was excellent. My fiancé had the chicken dish for the main course and the breast matched perfectly with the Shiraz sauce.
Sadly they run out from oysters, but my St. Jaques middle course was the perfect replacement. Sea bass dish is beautiful and the perfect size portion.
Our deserts were presented to perfection, beautiful presentation, and the gold flakes made it even more attractive.
At the end of our dinner they allowed us to see the busy kitchen and meet the staff.
We are pleased with their hospitality and professionalism. We will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank kobykoby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel also viewed

 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing