We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“beyond expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daniel

Daniel
Reserve with OpenTable
Daniel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 13,261 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
NYC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is definitely one of the best restaurants I'd ever been. Both meal and service were well beyond the best expectations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AVT_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,869
    299
    127
    44
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,582 reviews
2,585 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,744 helpful votes
“A very special restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I will never forget the generosity of Daniel. First met him many years ago when he was younger (as we all were) and it was so obvious that he was a chef of immense talent and creativity.
On a later trip I wrote and said my wife and I were having a special anniversary and we had friends from Australia with us who were similarly celebrating a major anniversary.
Daniel prepared a special degustation meal that showed his exceptional talent supported by a very professional team and it was a night that is etched in our memories forever.
We constantly talk about it and I think New York is fortunate to have a chef of such extraordinary talent.

Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good but not Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Le Bernardin has set a new standard of food quality and service. I was somehow expecting the same if not even more from Daniel.

I have asked to be given a cozy table with a great view, and I did this quite well in advance. Instead we have been sitted just in the middle of the restaurant, which felt a bit like I would be on stage.

Then also the waiter would bring the wine without knowing from which ptovince of Italy it is coming. A bit strange taking into account Daniel's reputation.

However all in all it was good. Still there are many other places to discover in NYC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurerHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Formal but friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Superb restaurant. Though setting is formal and men require a jacket the service is not "stiff". We tried the three course prix fixe menu and that was very good. A wide variety of appetizers and main course followed by a separate dessert menu. The wine list is extensive and touches all price points.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“flawless , a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My third time at Daniel, this time with friends.
From the minute we walked in, we experienced exquisite attention, making us feel like we were special...
A drink at the bar, then to our table where we were pampered by the waiting staff. The food is absolutely the best, sophisticated and simple. The wine list is incredible, with the best wines in the world from the most renowned winemakers.
A flawless experience overall.
Service is outstanding, classicism yet warm and caring.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pariscoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing