We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earned its Michelin stars”
Review of Daniel

Daniel
Reserve with OpenTable
Daniel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Earned its Michelin stars”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's not cheap and it's definitely not casual. This is formal dining at its best. Gentlemen, you will require a jacket. Ladies, it's a good excuse to dress up.

We chose from the excellent Prix Fixe menu and added a cheese course and coffee. The cheese trolley selection was excellent. The dining room is spacious and you are definitely not crammed in which is lovely. Service was polite and attentive... and most of the time, you barely noticed it ... which is perfect to my mind.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsmeagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,082
    330
    138
    51
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best meal I've ever had? Probably”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went here for a late Valentine's Day celebration with my girlfriend. The first word that comes to mind is wow. It's obviously classy as jackets are required, but it also came with some of the most amazing food and professional service that I've ever experienced. We did the prix fix menu with wine pairings - every single course was exceptional. I had never tried frog legs before - delicious. Some tenderloin and short ribs are pretty standard - beyond tender. You really can't describe how great a meal here is, so just go make a reservation if you can afford it, they start taking a month in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oh my!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you have the funds - go! Service was impeccable. The food perfect. Observing the ballet that is the staff (although - why no women serving?) was a show in itself. Discussing the experience later, I noted that no one came around with over sized pepper mills -- and we couldn't remember if there was even salt and pepper on the table as the food was perfectly seasoned, and none were required. If you're willing to spend for the near perfect experience - go. We were seated in the lounge, but as far as we could tell, service/food were the same.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlnsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful food and overall experience...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant on September 2011, as part of our 3rd wedding anniversary. We chose the 8-course tasting menu, which turned out to be almost a twelve-course menu, due to the chef's complimentary dishes. We had the wine pairing which was totally worth it. Food, ambiance, staff...everything was wonderful - totally recommended, would go there every time we are in the city...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rank: B+ Tasty Chef's Tasting Menu; Never Go For Restaurant Week”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rank: B+. Had the tasting menu and the opportunity to meet Daniel Boulud as he walked around the restaurant. The service is impeccable (as most all of the top end restaurants) and the food, while outstanding, is nothing exceptionally different or memorable compared to other top end restaurants. ("First world problem") Everything from the amuse-bouche, seafood (crab salad, mackerel, sea bass), the main entrees (suckling pig, lamb) and dessert are all well prepared and delicious. The food here was better than at Le Bernardin and the service was not intrusive as it was at Le Bernardin. Big fan of Daniel who seemed very unassuming and geuinely cared about his patrons.

If you are visiting in NY and interested in the top flight restaurants, for a unique experience, I would try wd-50 (though the food is not as good, likely the most inventive in all of NY), Per Se (you pay for what you get - best food, best non-intrusive service, or Momofuku Ko (popular chef, inventive and delicious as noted with the shaved foie gras). As a side note, never go to a top end NYC restaurant for "Restaurant Week" as the menu/options are never the same as the full prix fixe.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kicks_n_Bites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing