We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some tips for improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daniel

Daniel
Reserve with OpenTable
Daniel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Some tips for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to Daniel and of course the expectation was high. The food was spectacular presented and tasted perfectly. The room is bit crowded (Daniel could remove some tables) and so the overall noise is a little bit annoying. The service was almost perfect (both plates served and taken at the same time, attentive waiter who noted we were there to celebrate and brought a candle). The wine list not updated took us to a second choice that should not happen. But the weakest link is always what you need to improve. The waiter that served the bread passes his arm twice in front of me to reach my bread plate instead of going around. Unacceptable at these standards. Save some room for the cookies, chocolates and madelienes after diner. Almost perfect.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rjfm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,983
    316
    135
    48
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not convinced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wonder what the hype is all about. Food as art.. That means it was fingered heavily.... Taste was bland and sea bass was mushy. Desserts were very delicious.
Service staff seemed mostly French... Maybe that is the appeal for many... a bit of old Europe.
Service was a bit off. We had to change the white wine as they ran out of the one we had picked for a group of 6 and the red wine only came when most of us had finished the main course....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZwarteGoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

In the grandeur of the former Mayfair Hotel, Daniel serves excellence on the plate, in the glass and in the atmosphere. The staff to customer ration is such that there is always someone ready to serve you. The food was plentiful, beuatifully presented and delicious. If anything the servings were too big, so pace yourself. The only downside was the price, but if you are willing to spend, it is well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chihuahua_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience - but I was not thrown off my feet...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just visited Daniel a week ago and I must say that it is an impressive venue. Probably the most beautifully decorated restaurant that I have been to with lots of space between the table which is great for privacy/less disturbance. Service is entirely impeckible - it feels like there is aways someone just vaiting for you to call for assistance. It might not be entirely important for me personally, but it is really impressive that there are absolutely no errors. The food is great of course - that must be expected from a three-star restaurant - BUT it is far from the best I have had.

So, if you want to try a three-star restaurant without spending half a fortune - it worth going here and having their three-course menu - but do not expect to be thrown off your feet :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pepp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unmet high expectations. Freezing conditions.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

With Michelin rating Daniel Boulud's restaurant failed to wow us. Our waitstaff Giovanni was faultless and we handed a $80 tip. We both had the 3 course dinner but both ordered dishes with supplementary fees of $14, myself with the duck foie gras which was perfectly cooked and the foei grad stuffed grouse which I found too gamey but my partner thought was ok as was a tad dry with all ten prep work. My main was a duet of pork, cooked well with few small morsels of crispy roast prom. Good but not spectacular. Sauce was very good. The veges served with both plates were root winter veges. The weather was 70 that day and probably chilled to 58 in the restaurant as I met a fellow diner in the ladies who had goosebumps on her arms. Wasn't jut me then. Dessert was lovely, chocolate corlant(fondant) was gooey inside. Choco tower with parfait, rice crackles, mousses as good. Free pineapple dessert came as well which was nice. Tiny morsels of petit four to finish off. Very good but not brilliant. Oh yes, really rude front reception girls when we showed the cloakroom ticket and asked about calling a taxi, she just pointed out toward the door. Giovanni came to the rescue and hailed a taxi from round the corner for us. Saved the evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenmamboTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing