We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun American diner”
Review of Brooklyn Diner

Brooklyn Diner
Reserve with OpenTable
Brooklyn Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #337 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun American diner”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a great diner to visit for a good hearty American breakfast. It had a great feel to the place. The menu has something for everyone. The service was great, It was busy as others have mentioned on there post but it is to be expected as it so close to Central Park but it didn't effect the experience at all, I would def eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janenormanjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    792
    275
    87
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The first thing that's good about this place is that it looks like a traditional American diner so if you are a tourist trying to tick that off your 'experience list' then it's perfectly located!
We tried to visit for Sunday breakfast but it was full - always a good sign - so we called back one evening for burgers. Both times, the greeting and customer service was excellent - so welcoming and smiley!
The menu has all the classics you want and a few interesting bits. Portions were huge and everything was fresh and delicious.
My one tiny criticism is that the waiter didn't write down our order (this is a particular bugbear of mine!) and consequently forgot two items! We didn't remind him because we realised we'd ludicrously over ordered like the gluttons we are! We did check the bill and we weren't charged either which was fine but this is an annoying waiter habit which I'd like to see eradicated!!
Anyway, a minor point which by no means marred our enjoyment of this experience. The charming host even gave us a lollipop on the way out - what's not to love about that?!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sorellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, busy setting”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A cute upscale diner atmosphere in the midst of Times Square. Slow service. Tasty food. This place was recommended by our hotel and it was okay. I think we should have read the recommendations on ordering…eggs benedict, split pea soup…better than traditional breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hkh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, bit expensive”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

They have a $20 hot dog that comes with a glass of champagne. My hamburger was $18. It was good, but not worth that much. My mom had split pea soup and it was like the way my grandmother used to make it. It's basically a fancy diner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelB_1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast beyond the edge”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

OK, so it's busy and noisy and crowded. But it's fun and flavorful! If you are in the area and craving a caloric storm go for it. Sure, there are lean choices. But go for the Eggs Benedict or one of the other interesting menu choices.

You won't leave hungry and a walk in nearby Central Park will help.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidPF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Diner also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing