We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Village spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive Tree Cafe

Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #2,473 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, American, Bar, Greek, Pub, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
boulder, co
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great Village spot!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food is great, the price is right, and the Charlie Chaplain films in the back are a great touch! I love this place! stop here for dinner, and then when you are satiated, go downstairs to the Comedy Cellar for drinks and laughs! You can't lose.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fredstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    54
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So good, your stomach will hurt when you leave”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

One way or another you will either be so full because you cannot stop eating the wings, salads, Mac and cheese, burgers, or any of the. Other great bar food on their menus. It is a fun small spot perfect for a date or a night with a couple friends. Make sure to book some tix for the comedy cellar downstairs which has all of the best NYC comedians and others who stop in. I am sorry if I am letting to many people know this place because it is a nice spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Friday13th_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Restaurant”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Delicious Greek food affordably priced. Historic building. Dark and comfortable inside with accomodating staff. We had a group of seven people and they moved the tables around for us to be comfortable. There is a comedy club downstairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
164 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Double Treat”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our lunch was delicious and low-priced. Not only that, we watched Charlie Chaplin movies... at lunch. What a delight! I had their special borscht with beef and cabbage, a dish I haven't had in years. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Easyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Drinks!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a delicious strawberry daiquiri here! Also, lots of delicious choices of salads with or without chicken. It's not too crowded earlier on Friday nights. The hummus is delicious, too. The name deceives, it's got a great menu aside from snacks and coffee (as in, it's not just a cafe). The atmosphere isn't spectacular, but it's nice and be aware that if you need to use the restroom, you have to pass through a comedy show going on at night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing