We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Average Food”

John's of Times Square
Ranked #239 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Located in a unique 19th century church, the country's largest pizzeria is the perfect budget-friendly location for small and large groups to enjoy NY's famous thin-crust, brick oven pizza. Founded in 1997, John's is conveniently located in Times Square, and is the ideal restaurant to enjoy pre- and post-theater meals with family and friends. Capable of seating 400 people, John's can handle groups of any size gracefully in a NY minute
Boca Raton
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Service, Average Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been here before and the pizza was better. The service was very good and I cannot fault our waitress. But the food was basically so so pizza and my kids, who will eat almost anything, could not finish the appetizer of roasted vegetables, which were in fact a little bland. The house salad was the highlight. There are a million people in headphones working to orchestrate the seating and yet we stood idly around while several of them watched soccer in the bar. We will skip this place next time around.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,288
    1,655
    529
    155
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good pizza”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Big crust new york pizza. good and fast. Nice decorations of a typical pizza place. if on a hurry, food service is fast

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gioscatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip, better places to eat”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of our Hotel in Times Square - it was a mistake. it was thunder and lightning outside and downpour so when we arrived it was busy - i cannot say if this was more or less busy than usual. We were told a 25 minute wait to be seated which was actually closer to 10minutes :-)

However that was where the fun ended. We were tired but we were seated upstairs on a table for two (we were three) and it was directly adjacent to the fire exit (H&S would have a field day). We were asked if we wanted a started we chose garlic bread expecting to have large pizzas. the garlic bread arrived pretty quickly but had very large chunks of garlic in to the point we left half. Then we had what seemed like a 20-30 minute wait the table next to ours which arrived at the same time ordered served and left before our pizzas did arrive. They were okay - nothing to write home about - fresh, but we ordered mushroom topping to the normal base and had trouble locating said mushroom(s)....

it might be we were weary or it might be it was just not very good - too large for the staff - they were not pleasant they were busy..... shame we will not be going back or recommending it to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go..... JUST DON'T!!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this brief. I see some reviews ramble on so I'll get to the point. Stayed in NYC for 1 week. This was the only let down. Seriously ruined a night out. Service is the worst. Very rude staff. I got served some slop (spag meatballs) way before any other food came out. Ate mine, got sick of waiting. Was terrible. Very bland and barely warm. Pizzas came, also slop. Wouldn't serve to a dog. So so noisy. Had very very loud music playing. Such a put off. DO NOT GO. MUCH BETTER PIZZA ELSEWHERE!!!

Helpful?
Thank lukeybaby85
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Italian fare”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

As part of a large group, I expected to have difficulties getting seats together at a restaurant that doesn't take reservations. However, we had only a short wait in this very busy pizzeria, even though we needed a table downstairs. Employees were friendly and patient. Service was good; food was excellent. If you go, be sure to read the story of the restaurant on the back of the menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's of Times Square also viewed

 

Been to John's of Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing