We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza Ever”

John's of Times Square
Ranked #238 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Located in a unique 19th century church, the country's largest pizzeria is the perfect budget-friendly location for small and large groups to enjoy NY's famous thin-crust, brick oven pizza. Founded in 1997, John's is conveniently located in Times Square, and is the ideal restaurant to enjoy pre- and post-theater meals with family and friends. Capable of seating 400 people, John's can handle groups of any size gracefully in a NY minute
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our group of 4 rated this the best Pizza they ever had. Anywhere. Super quick service - really cute place. Eat here!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,314
    1,664
    536
    157
    128
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the Garlic Bread Rolls!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We try to eat here at least once when we are visiting. The restaurant is inside of an old church, so the scenery is breathtaking. There is plenty of seating and we haven't had to wait more than a few minutes each time we have gone. The pizzas are good, but the garlic bread rolls are simply amazing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAnders192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Final meal in NYC - was amazing!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Came here on our last day of our trip. On the advice of our helpful waiter we shared a large pizza which they made half and half with our choice of toppings. Our pizza was fantastic the best I've had :-) the chicken wings were delish too! Needless to say this was the only meal we needed all day!! Great value great service and great food in a popular buzzing restaurant :-) recommend !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dizzy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Calzone...”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went here twice during our week honeymoon in NYC. We simply had to go back! The calzone was beautiful, we opted for chicken garlic and extra cheese.

Had to wait longer for a table on a busy Saturday, but what do you expect?! Was worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bland Food, Poor Service- Not Worth a Visit”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The restaurant was highly recommended for the food and the service. The experience was mediocre at best. Our server was inattentive, and did not really recommend much- we were there for the first time. It took a while to figure out who our server was (15-20 minutes) our drinks came out fast, however, my Strawberry Daiquiri was imbalanced there was not a good balance of alcohol to the syrup. The Chicken Caesar Salad was good, however, the pizza was flavorless, and did not live up to the hype. I had better pizza from a corner vendor- literally. I would not recommend, not would I go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AP_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's of Times Square also viewed

 

Been to John's of Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing