We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and efficiant, no slices.”

John's of Times Square
Ranked #239 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Located in a unique 19th century church, the country's largest pizzeria is the perfect budget-friendly location for small and large groups to enjoy NY's famous thin-crust, brick oven pizza. Founded in 1997, John's is conveniently located in Times Square, and is the ideal restaurant to enjoy pre- and post-theater meals with family and friends. Capable of seating 400 people, John's can handle groups of any size gracefully in a NY minute
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty and efficiant, no slices.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We wanted a light dinner, so we went to this ever full place,waited a while, but got a very good service. ThevPizza waz thin and great, and it was a good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kobi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,315
    1,664
    536
    157
    128
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, not Great”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have to qualify my review a bit. The place is a zoo. I was there in August 2013 and Times square was packed with tourists. This place was so busy that you could barely even walk in their waiting area so I got pizza and pasta to go. The prices are about what you'd expect for times square - a little high but understandably so. The pizza was good. I liked it. Thin crust, delicious marinara sauce. The pasta that we got was not so good. Very mediocre, like cafeteria quality. We had to get our food to go due to the 45 minute wait at 5:45 pm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food was good. The service was slow, however. The prices for a Midtown Manhattan restaurant could not be beat. It is a popular place for pizza, but the establishment also serves pasta and traditional Italian fare, although it misses the mark on Italian seasoning. Most distressing is having one toilet for a restaurant that seats hundreds of people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 911carolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for a delightful pizza”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped in here for a late supper after a Broadway show. We were seated quickly even though we had a large group of eight. The waiters were very pleasant and brought whatever we needed quickly. The pizzas and salads were very good and the price was reasonable. It was the lowest price meal we had while in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt like I was eating pizza in Italy”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Love the atmosphere of dining in what once was a church. Gorgeous stained glass arch on the ceiling. Pizza to die for. We had to go twice, wish we could have gone again. If you are thinking about getting a pizza this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elteach68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's of Times Square also viewed

 

Been to John's of Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing