We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of John's of Times Square

John's of Times Square
Ranked #228 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Located in a unique 19th century church, the country's largest pizzeria is the perfect budget-friendly location for small and large groups to enjoy NY's famous thin-crust, brick oven pizza. Founded in 1997, John's is conveniently located in Times Square, and is the ideal restaurant to enjoy pre- and post-theater meals with family and friends. Capable of seating 400 people, John's can handle groups of any size gracefully in a NY minute
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We headed for dinner at 7:30, the place was buzzing. We had a wait of about 20 minutes for a table, however it was worth the wait. We started with the chicken wings and blue cheese sauce, so tasty. We order a margarita pizza with pepperoni, it was so good. Only problem was there was very little pepperoni on the pizza.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,172
    1,569
    505
    153
    117
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Please don't pick customers trays..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I honestly don't have much to say about John's, waiters really need to go under strict training in serving and ettiquitte. I cannot imagine ever going to any restaurant and watch my waiter pick leftover pizza off of trays - atleast do it in the back where no one can see you! The pizza is less than average - I don't believe this is how true italian pizza tastes like. I must admit that the garlic bread was very interesting but that will not make me go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RIM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,FL.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“simply great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

a few blocks from our hotel, housed in an old Jewish temple. open seating area, noise level high but the best new york style pizza we have ever had! staff was fast and kept an eye on our every need. would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfdrummer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place came recommended but not having booked we had to wait almost an hour for a table. Once seated however, service was fast and friendly and husband declared the pizza the best he had ever eaten!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheilaDonnachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizzeria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Boyfriend and I were told about this place by a friend from home so we had to visit. The atmosphere is really buzzing, lots of friendly staff to top up drinks and take orders. We chose calamari and mozzarella wedges to start, and ordered a large pizza for the main, needless to say we could have shared a starter and gone for a medium pizza, the portions are huge! Almost everyone I saw leaving had a doggy bag though, so we obviously weren't the only ones who over ordered. My boyfriend had a chocolate pyramid thing for pudding which he said was delicious and I had a sorbet. We also had cocktails, which were very boozy but not cheap.
I would definitely recommend a visit to this place if you're in NY. Food is tasty, atmosphere is great and decent value (bar alcoholic drinks).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oodelallyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's of Times Square also viewed

 

Been to John's of Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing