We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not the original down in the Village but the quality is not off at all.”

John's of Times Square
Ranked #236 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Located in a unique 19th century church, the country's largest pizzeria is the perfect budget-friendly location for small and large groups to enjoy NY's famous thin-crust, brick oven pizza. Founded in 1997, John's is conveniently located in Times Square, and is the ideal restaurant to enjoy pre- and post-theater meals with family and friends. Capable of seating 400 people, John's can handle groups of any size gracefully in a NY minute
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's not the original down in the Village but the quality is not off at all.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've frequented their older venue on Bleecker Street in Greenwich Village for many years and was surprised on a visit "home" that they had one in Times Square. When in NY, there's a darned decent pizza everywhere but good pizza?....for the discerning palate, John's is pretty darn GOOD. Even this newer pizza joint didn't disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank bigleemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns_Pizzeria_NYC, Public Relations Manager at John's of Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are glad that you have been a fan of John's Pizzeria and our different locations! We are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope to see you during your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,202
    1,592
    512
    154
    120
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

It gets really crowded right before shows but otherwise it's one of the best places to eat in the Theater District. The prices are more than reasonable and the quality is high. Full bar for those who are looking to indulge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaniC4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns_Pizzeria_NYC, Public Relations Manager at John's of Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review! It's always nice to have a customer give high reviews from the NYC area! We look forward to having you dine with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, VA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Yum! Third time's a charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were in New York this weekend and finally ate John's Pizza. The pizza was completely delicious -- the thin crust was perfect with a slight crunch from the brick oven. The sauce and cheese were equally delicious.

This was actually our third time to try to eat at John's Pizzeria. As others have posted, the wait can get a bit long at the Times Square location. Even though it was still early, we were facing an hour wait so we opted to take a pizza to go back to our hotel. We'll definitely eat at John's again, even if it's delivery or to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adventuregrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great pizza...back again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family and I went to John's after the theater. We arrived at about 6pm on a Sat. night and had about a 20 minute wait....to be expected. You are given a card and look for your number (deli style) over the bar. We were seated very quickly.

The place is huge. That's what I really liked about it the first time we went there. We were seated in a booth in the back corner. It was VERY noisy, probably due to the amount of people and the high ceilings. Our waiter was prompt and courteous.

We ordered a pizza (of course!) with sausage and peppers. It was delicious. One of the kids had an order of ravioli, which was also very good. (Although there is no kid's menu, they will do half orders of spaghetti, linguini, ziti, etc.) The ravioli could not be halved, but our 6 year old ate almost all of it!!

We shared a pitcher of soda. Glasses are without refills, so the pitcher was a better deal.

We look forward to going back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestmomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns_Pizzeria_NYC, Public Relations Manager at John's of Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for dining with us at John's Pizzeria. We are very happy you enjoyed your experiences with us, and hope to see you during your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistent NY pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our third time back. Great food and service. Very large dining room. Hubby and I split the small with our preferred toppings and that's plenty of food for us. We even had leftovers. I recommend if you are in Times Square. Be prepared to wait during peak dinner hours.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns_Pizzeria_NYC, Public Relations Manager at John's of Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for dining with us at John's Pizzeria. We are very happy you enjoyed your experiences with us, and hope to see you during your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's of Times Square also viewed

 

Been to John's of Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing