We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Reasonable Prices, Great Location!”

John's of Times Square
Ranked #253 of 13,676 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Located in a unique 19th century church, the country's largest pizzeria is the perfect budget-friendly location for small and large groups to enjoy NY's famous thin-crust, brick oven pizza. Founded in 1997, John's is conveniently located in Times Square, and is the ideal restaurant to enjoy pre- and post-theater meals with family and friends. Capable of seating 400 people, John's can handle groups of any size gracefully in a NY minute
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices, Great Location!”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

You can get everything from a personal pan pizza to a dinner salad to an Italian entree! Remember....no pizza slices! Food is delicious and location is perfect! Prices are reasonable and it's a great place to take your family! Reservations only for very large groups!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,252
    1,623
    526
    154
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, weird atmosphere”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Setting is visually warm and inviting. Loud techno-beat music was really out of place, and distracted significantly from the experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank NoCalVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Policemen told me to go here!”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My familiy and I were walking down the street, looking for a place to eat, not knowing what was good or not. So I asked a local police officer, standing on the street, where to get a good meal. He immediately pointed me in the direction of Johns. He said there isn't a better pizza in NYC. So we started walking, but decided to get another recommendation before stopping at Johns. There was another police officer, so I casually asked him where he would recommend, and yet again.....Johns!! Okay -- so we went in, and were very pleasantly impressed with the decor and the size of the restaurant. Never been to an upscale pizzaria before, but totally loved it. We did not love the total on the bill, however..but hey -- it's New York!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank cookiebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great pizza joint plus other options”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Had a pizza and Caesar salad.

Caesar was decent but could use a bit more garlic:) Not bad though.

Pizza was great! Good flavor, fresh toppings, neat atmosphere.

Definitely recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikesEpicLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Incredible Pizza!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

One the best pizzas we have ever had! Had lunch here, based on other Tripadvisor recommendations, while visiting Manhattan. They did not disappoint. Located steps from Times Square, just across the street from the Majestic Theater. The inside of the building itself is something to see. We opted for a salad and a Bruschetta pizza. My wife and I agree, it was one of the best pizzas we have had. We will be back when again in NYC.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLYDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's of Times Square also viewed

 

Been to John's of Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing