We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Awesome Service, Charged EXTRA??”

Philip Marie Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Philip Marie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #574 of 14,122 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: West 11th Street
Transit: A C or E Trains to 14th Street and 8th Avenue. B D F or M Trains to West 4th Street. 1 2 or 3 Trains to Christopher Street. M20 Bus to Hudson Street and West 11th Street.
Description: Innovative American Cuisine, Great Specials & More...If you've not yet discovered Philip Marie, a neighborhood gem in the heart of the West Village, you're in for a real treat. It's here that Executive Chef and Owner John Philip Greco III works his culinary magic in an environment steeped in New York City's hidden past. Despite its historic setting, replete with secret underground passages, a former speak-easy and the shadows of a 200-year old love story, the restaurant's concept and menu exhibit the young, hip creative take on "good ol' American food" with which the owner opened his brain-child 15 years ago. Philip Marie's main dining room continues to set the stage for some of the most innovative American dishes in New York, including wild game, exotic meats, fresh seafood and irresistible desserts. An extensive Wine List & Reserve list, boasting incredible wines from around the world, enables a perfect wine-food pairing for each luscious course, while the bar offers unique cocktails. A warm and attentive staff helps to maintain Philip Marie's extremely devoted clientele.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We reserved the wine room for a special occasion, It was very romatic and fit the situation perfectly. Our Waiter was great, Friendly. A little overwhelming hearing all the food choices would be better if it was all written down on a menu of some sort. The food was Great.
But ive read some reviews where they charge extra on some bills. I put a deposit on the wine room and was supposed to be subracted from my bill and it wasn't. They really need to figure this out because otherwise it was a really great experience but being charged extra on a bill just isn't acceptable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 375 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went for lunch here a few weeks back with a friend who had been once before.

Food was quick, very well presented and really tasty!!

Would highly recommend going back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pacmania1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After cheering a friend on their return to NYC from a charity bicycle run, we decided to go to Philip Marie for brunch. We arrived 5 minutes before the brunch menu was no longer available, so we were given the dinner menu. Okay...not a problem.Our waiter was extremely friendly and took our drinks order immediately. He also took our dinner order immediately, too. I ordered the leg of lamb, a dinner menu item. Moments later our waiter came back and said they were all out of the leg of lamb. I found that intereting as they only just started to serve dinner and they were already out of that item. I opted for the lamb chops. We never saw our waiter again. He was replaced by a trainee without explanation. Hey, we're only the customers...why tell us?!? The prices are very reasonable and decor was nice. After an interminably long wait the meals arrived at the table. Brought by the trainee. The lamb chops were awful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vagabond_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Good food, some confusions on the orders, but for sure a great experience in the village! Wine a little bit expense

Thank Luke1251965
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philip Marie R, Manager at Philip Marie Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you, looking forward to serving you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sat outside for brunch on a Saturday afternoon. The people watching was great. They had some good menu choices. The shrimp burrito was very good and everyone else seemed to enjoy their choices as well. Not to pricey for NYC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChefCoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Marie R, Manager at Philip Marie Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

If you thought the brunch was nice, make sure you make your way to our Clambake Tuesdays and Wine Pairing Dinners on Thursdays ~ thank you again for your support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philip Marie Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Philip Marie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing