We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“salt and oil”
Review of The Harrison

The Harrison
Ranked #5,301 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Corner of Greenwich St and Harrison St.
Transit: The 1 train to Franklin st or the 1,2,or 3 to Chambers st. As well as the A, C, or E to Canal st
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“salt and oil”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

now this criticism comes from someone who loves Mediterranean food and can't get enough olive oil. salad swimming in truffle oil dressing with pungent smell,,, ick. i sent it back and ordered the roasted carrots, they arrived shriveled and having soaked up an enormous amount of oil with a drizzle of something white,,,, now i'm worried about my stomach. the roast chicken has been a standard there for years, it arrived crispy, on top of very runny potato puree and sauteed greens (not spinach-again swimming in oil). the crispy chicken skin was saltier than a potato chip. 2 years ago the restaurant made a comeback with a new chef, he's obviously gone. yuck!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImpossiblyPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food- don't miss it!!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Somewhat expensive (1 appetizer to share, 2 main courses and 2 cokes for 80$) but was worth every penny!! Everything we tried was absolutely delicious! Would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Lenos_79
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great dinner in Tribeca”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Dinner on a Tuesday in Tribeca was really quite lovely. The Harrison, recommended by many but not 'the latest thing', which is a really great thing if you want to get a table! Great staff, but it was the food that excelled. The menu is not overly complex, but that's also a good thing, it means they are focussed on ingredients not fireworks. Excellent tartare, fabulous scallops, great house made gnocchi and perfectly cooked pan seared mackerel all washed down with a lovely Sicilian white all came in under $200 with a 20% tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torontowinehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Water views and good food.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate here with some work folks from work -- this restaurant has a great atmosphere and the food is also wonderful. The hostess wasn't particularly welcoming but once you get passed her the service in the restaurant is fantastic. I had some comfort food with the organic chicken and a great little wine. I was with two people from work and they both said their meals were great too. Definitely stop in here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishupfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great location. Great food. Great service”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate an impromptu dinner at the Harrison on our second night in NY. I had actually forgotten I had eaten there in the distant past and was happy to revisit.

Start with the hostesses - genuinely interested in having customers in the restaurant (not rocket science that really but many places fail on the first impressions). Also keen to know why we hadn't been back in over 5 years (we live in Singapore so the commute would be a killer...). Fast, polite and efficient seating at a nice table in the centre of the restaurant.

The restaurant itself is done out in the stereotypical NY brasserie feel - dark wood, long bar with every type of whisky and bourbon possible, dim but not dark lighting that really creates a nice atmosphere for an evening meal. In summer as an aside you can sit on the pavement and watch Tribeca pass by.

The food - we both ate the roast chicken on a bed of mashed potato and spinach. The chicken was crisp and just salted enough; tender and succulent. Thoroughly recommend. I have eaten the fish here many years ago and it was equally excellent, juicy and perfectly cooked. We both had a glass of the house red - excellent, full bodied and great value at 10 bucks a time.

What was really nice about this place was the service. Never once did I have to ask for anything. Almost had I taken the sip that got my water below the 70% full level and someone was discretely refilling. Likewise with my bread.

In summary - great service; great food; great wine and genuinely nice people working at the restaurant. Thoroughly worth the 80 bucks for both of us. What is even better is the restaurant can be booked directly from Tripadvisor via Opentable

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dsharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harrison also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing