We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very high quality steak house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bobby Van's Steak House

Bobby Van's Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Bobby Van's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,257 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: We are located just steps away from Grand Central Station.
Description: Located in New York's landmark Helmsley Building, Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been serving the best porterhouse in town for the last eleven years. Upon entering, one is greeted with the sight of a credenza groaning under the weight of large bottles of wine. A bar full of regular customers is on the left and looking into the one-hundred seat dining room, one sees the thirty foot high ceiling and windows overlooking Park Avenue. To complement our Prime Aged Steaks our Sommelier has created an award winning wine list. Whether you're looking for a big Cabernet, a Pinot Noir or something in between our comprehensive list is sure to please. "
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
297 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very high quality steak house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

one of the better steak houses in midtown, nice atmosphere, great steak and sides. It is a good place for business or friends

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    69
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont Go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant is not worth the money. The ambience is fair, the service is terrible and the food was mediocre.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancytheot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
161 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Another NYC Steak "must".”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went there with a few customers and had made a reservation for 4, the table was ready as promised. (I strongly recommend a reservation since it is quite busy on almost every night). The waiter who took care of our table was very helpful and knowledgeable as well as attentive without being intrusive. The meals were all excellent and the presentation very good. All in all, a great place. The bar is small and it can be extremely difficult to get a seat (or even standing room).....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“For big appetites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was the first restaurant we went to on our 4 day trip.
Perhaps we should have starved ourselves for 2 days as the portions were HUGE......that said they were also delicious. I love a very nice steak......not saying it's the best i've had nor best value but the actual restaurant, staff, service & food were all great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good old Fashion NYC Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you like large pieces of meat and great service this is the place to try. Located near many of the banks this felt like you were an extra in the movie Wall Street at times.
Food was delicious they really know how to serve a steak. Appertizers were huge and can be shared.
Service was old school and impeccable.
Restaurant was noisy but that's part of its charm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby Van's Steak House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bobby Van's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing