We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ribbon Brasserie

Blue Ribbon Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Ribbon Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #570 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: SoHo
Description: Located on Sullivan Street at the convergence of the West Village and SoHo, Blue Ribbon's bustling dining room and friendly bar have been serving neighborhood regulars and culinary industry insiders since 1992. The Bromberg Brothers' eclectic vision first sprang to life here and has blossomed into an iconic destination known for its late-night dining scene where the country's top chefs congregate and eat after closing their own kitchens. Subdued lighting, red velvet banquettes and mustard hued walls, pristine oysters and countless culinary tales are all well-known trademarks of this, the flagship and original Blue Ribbon.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were able to walk in without a reservation. The place is quite small but has an nice feel and atmosphere. My husband had a great steak and I have the fried chicken with mash potato, gravy and honey, delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynneALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    94
    33
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The later, the better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The following is why this restaurant will always be great:
It is nice to wait at the bar, the bartender is a very serious man who pays attention, and not too much attention. The host is cool, nice, and friendly, but not too friendly. The food is really good. The waiter knew his wines. And the last two bottles of Cassis Rosé on the wine list were probably meant to be ordered and consumed by us. Finally, a 10 PM dinner ended up at 4 AM, because we felt this was a special evening, in the right place. Thank you guys! Will always be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent fried chicken!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Blue Ribbon is great for late-night dining. It was packed at 1:00am and the waiting line was out the front door. We had a very short wait for a table. We heard they have delicious fried chicken & we were not disappointed. Blue Ribbon's fried chicken is the best! We had a longer wait for our food to come out of the kitchen than expected, but their chicken is worth the wait. Funny place ~ they have an oyster bar, a bustling bar, a very extensive menu ranging from Asian, Italian, Mexican, seafood & Southern comfort food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 81claire626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cool place, tasty food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I think this is a place to visit when in NY. They stay open from 4pm to 4am I think. Great cocktails, great service, tasty food. I see that a lot of people only had appetizers which I can recommended because that's what we thought tasted best from what we tried. They are also big in portion. Prices are just fine. Atmosphere really dark and cool. Just like it should be in NY.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Perry3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We ate at the Blue Ribbon with colleagues. The New York strip was well cooked and tasty, however the trout was greasy and ruined the flavour of what was a very good piece of fish. Service was fine, the food was probably a little expensive for what it was.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ribbon Brasserie also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blue Ribbon Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing