We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average but Costly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hearth

Hearth
Reserve with OpenTable
Hearth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,553 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Transit: L Train to 1st Avenue.
Description: Hearth is everything the word implies...a warm, comfortable restaurant with hospitality as its goal. Chef Marco Canora's cuisine employs seasonal, locally-sourced ingredients prepared with an Italian influence.
new york, New York, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Above Average but Costly”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My daughter chose Hearth because of seeing Top Chef. The restaurant is costly. They use local farm fare but the food is not not stellar. The sweetbreads and snails got ooohs but the salad was small. The seafood stew was average and was a very small portion as were the meatballs (3 meatballs for 29 dollars). My daughter loved the salmon, and the meatballs were good. The environment is loud and busy and the service was good though spotty. It's 100 dollars a person with drinks and dessert. Felt I could do better elsewhere but family enjoyed it for a birthday celebration.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    85
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went here with a couple of colleagues. What a nice dinning experience. Staff was very knowgleable. The food was great, the wine selection extensive and overall very pleasant evening.
The only thing that put a damper on the meal was the kiwi ice-cream I had for dessert, disgusting as it may seem, it taste like raw fish. I'm not sure if they store it in the same cooler or what the deal is but someone should defintely check on that. We informed the waitress and she was very apologetic but still...makes you wonder.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos_Orihuela-BALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Memorable Evening”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were looking for a memorable evening to celebrate our daughter's engagement and found that at Hearth. Our serve was attentive, knowledgeable and upon learning of her engagement, brought us a complementary glass of sparkling Chardonnay. The food was wonderful (we had the prixe fix menu) and the atmosphere warm and inviting. Can't wait to eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeVee3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food & wine equal a good time”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our party of five decided to utilize the “Put Yourself in Our Hands” option of the menu and enjoyed the seven course tour. It is a wonderful way to taste many of the menu options as well as some choices from the chef. This restaurant has an excellent wine list and a good time was had by all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjgkmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Variable based on reviews, but we had excellent experience...”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

One never knows why food and service vary wildly, which seems to be what happens at Hearth. We ate just once on a weekend evening and a large party had a great time. The service was not just good, but sharp and agreeable. The food was flat-out great. Two of us shared a whole black bass that was dazzling to look at, let alone eat. Ribbiletto soup to start, any dessert to finish made for a happy meal, and I don't mean the kind that comes in a box. Prepare to spend, and to feel good about the bill. At least for us the quality was every bit matched to the prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Handyman301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearth also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hearth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing