We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #253 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for twi nights. We were exceptionally treated, from the time of the check in (with Lenissa) to check out. The room, although small, had a modern decor had an amazing view of the Central Park. They even had the right charger for our cell phones that we forgot at home.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ottawamiroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Lenissa and all of our staff here at the JW Marriott Essex House hope you will stay wiht us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Essex House is very classy, has an unbeatable location, and offers a very friendly and able staff. But, unless you are on a high floor, the rooms often look out at airshafts, or adjacent buildings. Our first room not only had that flaw but the safe was missing and it had not been well-cleaned. We were able to move, and our room was fine, but at these prices it did not feel like the greatest value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank californian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for many years under several owners. Marriott has a very good property with an A#1 location, Central Park is across the street and in the center of Mid-Town. They have done a nice job renovating so far, but have a way to go before it has a five star rating in my book.. Although we are a Gold member, the concierge lounge was not completed. They did , however, offer complementary appetizers in the afternoon and an abbreviated breakfast in the morning. This worked OK with me. The staff vas very courteous and well trained and did what they could to make our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Try to get park view ,,,... You may have to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for being a Marriott Rewards member and we will hope you will return to enjoy all the improvements that are made in our Executive Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Marriott has done a beautiful job renovating this historic hotel. Clean, bright, big and beautiful rooms. Great staff. One of the best addresses in the City!

We were upgraded to a Park view, I love being a platinum member! The only thing that was disappointing was the concierge lounge was under construction, so breakfast was in the restaurant downstairs, which is lovely.

I usually stay at the Marriott Downtown when in NYC, I think I might have found me a new go to property.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed in this hotel last Summer (June 2013) and had great time there. I booked the park view suite and the first night was checked into a suite only with partial view. Called the front desk the very next day and they moved me to another one with full front park view from the living room. The hotel has art deco style, very tasteful and elegant, but if you prefer trendy style (W hotel etc), this won't be a fit. The location is right next to the Columbus circus and just one min you will be inside the park! It's also about 10-15 min walk to the Broadway or Metropolitan Museum, very convenient to see all the shows or exhibitions without the traffic hassle.
The hotel service is very good, but the wifi coverage in the suite had some problem from time to time. They did send the technician to check but it didn't help much. Other than that I can't think of anything that can be complained.

Room Tip: a suite with front park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had no view! A cement wall and no turn down service
It was confusing to figure out how is close window blinds !
Room was a good size and well appointed.

The restaurant was terrible. had to wait for a table for breakfast. After seeing a empty venue!
The buffet was disappointing!
Eggs had been sitting too long, Danish provided was stale!
Fruit hard, orange juice tasted better from a container. Coffee not hot
The elevator was suspicious! When reporting it was told it does happen
Great location...

Room Tip: Perhaps a view and not a wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Front desk staff and concierge were excellent. We had a great view over Central Park. Executive lounge was closed for renovation but the hotel gave breakfast coupons with limited selections. The location is hard to beat. Marriott is doing a nice job with this property.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view over Central Park and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#257 of 469 in New York City
6,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $368 - $994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing