We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #249 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Do not order room service... It is ridiculously expensive!!! Sorry but I had to start off with that. Other then the expenses this is the place to go. It's very nice and located in a very convenient area in the city. The people are really nice and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White_s1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was a nice property with excellent customer service. The building is old and dated but the location is superb right across from the park with 5th avenue shopping just just over a few blocks. The quality was JW.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

A number of staff were off hand and rude and after four hours out in freezing conditions watching the parade we came inside to get a warming cup of coffee but were advised that the facilities were closed as there was a private function. Again later on we were told that we could not sit at a table from 3.30 as it was set up for dinner. Paid for a room but received just that!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Su D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

An experience to put on your "Bucket List"! My wife is so happy to have the opportunity to watch the Thanksgiving Parade from our hotels front door. We braved the cold and then went upstairs to our room to listen to the commentary on t.v. The security staff were great in controlling the crowds returning back to hotel. Sharlene, at the front desk was courteous and comforting to all the guests. The appointments in our room were just great. Big and fluffy towels, esquisite bedding and the lighting made our room exceptionally cozy.
I can not say enough good things about all of the staffers that we have met, from the bar to the breakfast staffers, everyone was exemplerary. The Essex House has become my New York hotel of choice.

Room Tip: The inner quad facing rooms on the 11th floor were great for a sound sleep, uninterrupted by the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We ae so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us! We hope to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Essex House very soon! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Iv'e always wanted to stay at the Essex House and I wasn't disappointed with my stay. The rooms were spotless and the service was great! We got a mahhantan suite which included a foyer entre, a powder room, a big living room with work desk, a big separate bedroom, and a marvelous bathroom with separate tub and shower. The views from this room were great. There was a view of the city and a partial view of Central Park. The next morning we ordered room service and the food was REALLY good. That night we got key lime which was different then your average key lime pie, but a good different. The lobby was clean and luxurious and very spacious. Someone even escorted us to our room which was 3212 (on the 32th floor). The best thing about the hotel was being on Central Park. I would definitely stay at the Essex House again. Overall, this place is very clean, sleek, modern, and a very luxurious hotel in NYC.

Room Tip: Get a mahhantan suite. They are very big and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradlo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Please have no expectations. When they first reopened they were polite and appreciative of your business. Not anymore. They will drop the price to fill the hotel and even if you booked a year ago, No matter. Go to a larger hotel that will have some "room" for you. Or sleep on the park bench.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineW111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

"Guests of Saturday Night Live stay at the Essex House...overlooking beautiful Central Park". Very glad we did. This iconic NYC grand dame really looks good over these many years. My wife and I spent the weekend here. Our room was very comfortable with a queen size bed, updated bath (well, maybe not the tub, but it was in good shape). Small refrigerator, safe, bathrobe, and great big towels were all nice amenities. The room turned out to be where I always ask for it...far away from the elevators and on a high floor. It overlooked 58th street (exact opposite side of the Central Park views). It was nice and quiet. I am a Marriott Platinum member, but didn't receive any special treatment (nor did I ask for it) like a room upgrade. We did utilize the Rewards Lounge on the 1st floor near the elevators. It was excellent. Great coffee and very good tea. The basics were all included: scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes, breads, juices, oatmeal. There was also large glass-door coolers with a great fruit selection, yogurt, parfaits, smoked salmon (along with onions, capers, etc.), deli meats/cheeses and nice smaller bagels. Very spacious, but I assume it would get pretty crowded later, The attendants were very attentive and friendly.

The location is, well, outstanding. Central Park is right across the street. Broadway is well within walking distance (we saw "Beautiful" the new Carole King musical at the Stephen Sondheim theater on W 43rd). Really easy to get a cab, if you don't want to walk.

We didn't have much interaction with the rest of the staff, so can't comment on that -- but it seems a lot of people had issues according to other TA comments...though, I often think people have unrealistic expectations on hotel staff and when they don't get what they want, they take it out on the staff in TA. Oh well...

Room Tip: Of course, if you can get a room overlooking Central Park...the higher, the better. However, we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards member, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We hope to welcome you and your wife back to the JW Marriott Essex House very soon! Thank you again and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 469 in New York City
2,921 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#57 of 469 in New York City
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#93 of 469 in New York City
2,376 reviews
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#114 of 469 in New York City
1,324 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#26 of 469 in New York City
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $343 - $1,087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing