We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #251 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My sisters and I stayed here over the weekend to celebrate my birthday.I received a complimentary bottle of wine and fruit, such a a nice touch. We had a beautiful Jr. Suite with comfortable bed and a lovely bath. The only critic is the pull out couch wasn't the best thing to sleep on. My sister woke up with a hurting back.
Perfect location to the park (right across from it), great restaurants and only 12 blocks to the all the shows. Highly recommend it this beautiful property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsandra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    502
    234
    110
    87
See reviews for
466
577
60
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Marriott should consider themselves lucky to add the Essex House to their collection. This property has just been renovated - work-out facility, club lounge, and lobby restaurant.

All of the staff were extremely helpful and they were kind enough to offer me an upgraded suite at check-in. The views from the Central Park Suite were fantastic - Central Park and Columbus Circle.

Room Tip: A view of Central Park is a great bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demetgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Essex House is an historic property in a prime area...across the street from Central Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and many great restaurants. We requested a room overlooking Central Park.....the view was worth the extra cost. Our room was not large, but it was comfortable, and the view was spectacular. The concierge sent us to a great shop located directly behind the hotel to rent bikes for Central Park. Of course, the public areas were beautiful, but what really stood out were the huge flower arrangements.....just gorgeous!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room with a view! Otherwise, select a different hotel that is less expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Well if your looking for poor treatment and totallack on concern for problems you may havestay at this hotel...this is there speciality.Thye had a total disregard for our needs ofroom in which we booked for and use a pathetic excuse to adress our issues.
1. If you want a view of the park well get ready becuase this means that you can get any floor from level 4 which has al the street noise and loks into the trees across the road to the 39th that has a view. As you guessed we had level 5
2. Despite asking a thousand times prior for a room with twin beds we were told only when we got there that they do not exist facing the park.
The thing thatmade us angry was that that conirmed both things 6 times before we arrived.
The management are absolutly pathetic and the staff have zero customer service.
My suggestion...find another hotel it is simply not worth the money.
.

Room Tip: dont think what you getting is what you will actually get...the se guys could not care less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjhmriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fine hotel, directly on Central Park. Fitness room a bit (too) small, but has all equipment. It was said the fitness facilities would be renewed. Breakfast, bar and restaurant good.
Hotel services (laundry, cleaning, chekc-in/check-out) well in order. Waiting time for taxi can be quite long. Concierge service (for bagage keeping) takes too long at the afternoon peak (1 to 3 pm).
Overall price levels very high (but this is NY...)

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade and/or Park View - if available you should be able to get it for free. Also, get a M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

JW Marriott Essex House is a beautiful NY hotel in a superb location! Walking distance to so many attractions. My only complaint is there are no coffee machines in the rooms, but with a coffee shop on every corner, its not a big deal.
The pizza place behind the hotel is also great

Helpful?
Thank Yoyomanda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Staff exceptional. Rooms fine. Good size - especially for New York. But be careful you don't get a room overlooking a wall. We picked a mid-type room (not the cheapest, definitely not the most expensive. They did move us on our second day. Lots of cold coming in from poor windows.

Still obvious hints of McArabia from Jumeirah there (including the wifi network names).

Bathroom ok. Shower pressure great. Bed FANTASTIC.

Staff were the best thing about this hotel. From reception to doormen to concierge to housekeeping. Flawless.

Iconic building in an iconic location. I would definitely return - but would definitely pre-book a room (we ended up with a side view of Central Park - in the snow in January it looks particularly great).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,982 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Property: JW Marriott Essex House New York
Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing