We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly Run, and Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #248 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poorly Run, and Expensive”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Essex House has its good qualities. It's in an excellent location, and the rooms are very clean, reasonably large and comfortably appointed, although the furnishings are dated. However, it's quite poorly run. The WiFi is free, but doesn't work, and while when I called the front desk, they promised to have someone sent up to fix it within the hour, they never came. I called again, and they apologized, but no one ever actually came to fix the problem. One of the lights, and a lamp were out in my room, and when someone came to change the light bulb, they determined it was a problem with the socket, and fuse, respectively. The light was never fixed, and I was sent a lamp with a dirty shade, and a large tear in it about a week after my original complaint. Despite claiming to offer 24 hour room service, I called down three times, and no one answered. I then called the front desk, and they said room service was "undergoing renovations" and unavailable. When I asked about the restaurant, I was told they were not serving dinner. This was at 5:00 on a Saturday. I have had several other issues with the hotel as well, and would not recommend it. While the location is great, you're better off splurging for a nicer establishment like the Plaza, or staying somewhere cheaper where a lower level of service is expected. I've had better experiences at a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MorningxxMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    517
    242
    112
    91
See reviews for
486
594
64
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just stayed one night in the Essex House for the first time. It's one of the great old hotels in NYC and is getting spruced up apparently. My room was refurbished and comfortable. The location across from Central Park South is great for runners. The gym is small and serviceable. We arrived around 11PM and were disappointed there was no food service at the bar. It seems the restaurant is in refurbishment now. The concierge was helpful and aimed us at the Time Warner Center nearby for a couple of late night options. The hotel is priced normally for NYC, exorbitant for anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was expecting a tad bit more with the JW name attached. The service here was lackluster. I came in/out a few times without even seeing a door man. I hailed my own taxi twice when there was a doorman standing right there both times.

It appears they did a mid-2000s remodel probably when going to the JW brand. The room gives off a more contemporary vibe whereas the lobby and halls are old money vibe. It's still OK now but in a few years the bathroom will be timeless but I think the rest of the room will look dated. The lighting in the room was a bit funky, controlled by smart switches. The first night I slept with the window lights on after attempting to turn them off and failing.The second night, I called them at about midnight to ask how to turn them off (hold down the blue button on the opposite side of the room until the light goes off, gosh how wouldn't everyone know that?) I have a computer science degree and you would think I could have figured that out, but it wasn't as obvious as it should have been. I got the idea from the other side of the phone that it was a frequent question. Oddly, I woke up in the morning just before sunrise and the lights by the window were back on.

I didn't have any issue w/ the size of the room. Actually after reading here it was a larger room than I expected; and there was a closet to hang items in and my luggage found its way on to the luggage rack. If this hotel were in Times Square, the room would be considered "big" even.

I'm the type to notice every little finger smudge and I'd say the room was VERY clean.

The lights in the bathroom were actually pretty cool. They have motion activated LEDs under the vanity cabinet so you don't have to fumble around in the middle of the night to find things. I actually am going to steal this simple idea in my own place.

Great location. For New York City it doesn't get any better location-wise. I just was expecting a bit more in service, it doesn't even hold a candle to the Ritz-Carlton that's just down the street.

Hotel wifi worked great, and fast, when it worked, but at about 10pm came to a screeching halt one night. Wifi free.

Hotel elevators weren't keyed, which in a property of this might be a security issue, but I was happy to see that at night they did post people to hand check keys.

The price was just right for business travel, too. Barely below the level that would raise an eyebrow, but it was this or something in Times Square for $20 less with no free Internet, no contest there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orvieto, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I am staying here now but after my last two stays may reconsider staying here in the future. I once gave this hotel a good review but to the extent any readers are relying on my prior review I just wanted to update you as to what I think now. First this is now a Marriott managed property and it does "feel" different. It feels a little more canned and corporate. Not bad but just different. Second I've had air conditioning problems during my last two visits including having to change my room during my last visit. Third my current room smells like feet. Fourth my toilet this visit was running non-stop and took two calls to fix. Fifth my shower has moldy caulking. BUT the staff is friendly and I think they're tremendous. And you can't beat the location and usually the price. But just realize what you're getting.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MAROMINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a good stay. Rooms are recently updated, beds are very comfortable. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member I was upgraded to a corner suite over looking Central Park. The room had an amazing view and is in an excellent tourist location. I will be staying here again when I come back to NYC. I didn't give it 5 stars because it is not quite up to other JW Marriott standards I have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde_1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Rooms and breakfast are good, location is great but service is perplexing and at times entertaining. This is why…. arrived from the UK at 11.30pm exhausted from our journey. No concierge to help us with our luggage. We requested a lower room than the 16th floor offered but the response was this is not possible. This is fine however but it was delivered with either take the room or check out. I was polite so to receive such a response was astonishing. Finally I was told that there may be a room on the 8th floor available the next day. The following morning we visited Central Park. We returned 10.30am to go into the bar/breakfast area to order some drinks. We were greeted initially by one lady with “hmm not sure if we can do that before 12.00” even though breakfast was still operational. This lady then u-turned and allowed us in…great... However another lady intervened who said we could not have a drink not even a glass of water from the breakfast bar. The two ladies then disputed this whilst we walked out. We have two young children who were quite thirsty so to be denied a drink of water….?? After this I decided enough is enough and would take up the advice given to me and move hotel. I checked in to the Fairmont Plaza Hotel. Here we were greeted with a smile… To add to our experience once checked in to The Plaza I informed reception we would be checking out the next day so not to worry moving us to the 8th floor. However we arrived home that evening to find all our belongings had gone. I returned to the front desk and was told we had been moved to the 8th floor. I questioned this and explained I had requested earlier not to move us and that I was checking out the following day. They had no record of this. I wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChunkyChips4433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am a platinum member and chose this hotel because of the location. Despite the huge amount of points consumed (380K), this hotel still is NOT A MARRIOTT. NO executive lounge, NO included breakfast, NO welcome gifts (or points rebate), Nothing.
The rooms look very aged.
True, location is amazing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogerio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 466 in New York City
1,252 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#258 of 466 in New York City
6,195 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 466 in New York City
691 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 466 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Property: JW Marriott Essex House New York
Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#188 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing