We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but just fair hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #256 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Can't imagine who thinks this hotel is beautifully maintained - maybe our standards are too high, but was shocked how much Work Marriott has left to do on this hotel! Booked two rooms for our family and both had multiple problems - lights, heat, air, room service , cleanliness etc etc etc ...
Have Always assume that a Marriott will not have those type of problems, the chain is usually beautifully run but they should not have opened as a Marriott until they had checked and fixed all the problems... One of the rooms they sent us to was either occupied or just never cleaned since the last occupant!
Must give credit to one of the managers Christina Rodriguez and some young men front desk personnel who actually seemed to care! They at least made me hopeful that at some point the Management will get it up to Marriott standards

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank words4beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are in New York with family and want a hotel in a good location and an awesome view of Central Park, then this is the place for you. A short walk away from bustling Times Square and the theatre district, it is close enough to the lights and sounds of the City that you can enjoy it while affording you the luxury of a quiet room to retire to in the evening.

Keep in mind that only rooms with a King bed have a view over Central Park. We wanted a room with two beds and our view was literally a brick wall, but I knew that when booking the room so it wasn't an issue. The room we had (1425) was spacious but if you like your wardrobe space then go somewhere else because it was miniscule!

If you are friends travelling together and shopping is a must then you will thoroughly enjoy the convenience of having 5th Ave. down the road and being able to drop off your purchases when it gets too heavy on the arms!

Having said that, if you are looking for a hotel in a happening location and want to enjoy trendy/young outings and dine at "cool" restaurants, then this is not the location for you. I would recommend the Meatpacking District instead which is quite a distance from this hotel.

All in all, the service was pretty good and the staff very helpful! If I ever visit New York again with a friend I wouldn't stay here but would opt for a trendier hotel. But with the family or with my kid I would book again because it really is in a good location and it was a comfortable stay.

One last thing... the beds are VERY soft! If, like me, you prefer a hard bed then you will suffer. If, however, you want to feel like you are sleeping on a cloud of marshmallows, then book yourself a room! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UmTalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spent four nights here in a room overlooking Central Park. The view was wonderful and we had a nice little sofa next to the window that one can relax on and see the action in the park. Room was large and clean but bathroom was tiny. Towels were wonderfully big. The bed was okay but not great. There is a mini fridge but no coffee maker. Lights are impossible to figure out. Marriott took over a little while back and is still ironing out a few problems. The gym was just okay.
Hotel is beautifully renovated Art Decor style. Location is fabulous, right on the park, a short walk to the zoo, easy walk to Museum of Modern Art, The Guggenheim, Frick Collection, FAO Schwartz, The Plaza and home of Eloise, 5th Avenue, American Doll and St Patricks Cathedral. Further a field but walkable is The Public Library, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Natural History Museum. Staff was all excellent, except the front doormen who spent their time talking to each other and not paying much attention to guests. Taxis easy to get right out front. Concierges were very helpful and security was excellent with security guards checking all guests for their room keys before allowing them up to their rooms. Breakfast was ridiculously expensive and not that special, although the staff was good and service fast if you did not have breakfast buffet. There are a number of inexpensive food/meal options very close to hotel. Hotel appeared to be more for business than families, maybe because of the price which for New York and its' location is actually reasonable. If driving, hotel has parking for $55 a day or $65 for SUVs or oversized vehicle, with no in or out privileges but due to its location, one does not need the use of a car.
Overall a very pleasant stay with over the top location and great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking Central Park on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in New York City and stayed at the Essex House. We selected the hotel largely for its location, namely close to the Theater District, close to good restaurants and not too far from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The hotel is beautifully maintained and our room was modern, quiet, clean and comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable and I enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep. The staff was helpful and friendly. Like most New York hotels, in-hotel dining was expensive and I thought that a breakfast that cost more than $40.00 per person was a bit excessive even for New York. However, there are many restaurants and cafes nearby and in-hotel dining can be easily avoided. I certainly would stay at the JW Marriott Essex House again when we next return to New York for a weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefano_di_Perugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had 3 adults and a baby in our room, and I was surprised how spacious the room was for a NYC hotel. Comfortable beds, modern decor, great bathroom. Would have liked a view of the park, but I'm assuming that comes with a higher level room. Was great to just walk across the street to the park. The staff was very friendly. And had a great experience at the South Gate restaurant in the hotel. Delicious food, and the staff couldn't have been nicer to the baby. Would definitely recommend Essex House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for almost a week. The location is great, and the service was quite good too. The issues we had are small things to be sure. But when you're sending that kind of $$, it's the little things that make it.

Everyone was friendly and helpful.the rooms were fine, although I found the bed uncomfortable. The lights were a little tricky too (I have a college degree but I couldn't turn off the bathroom light). Typical NY plumbing - we couldn't get the shower hot unless we ran the tub hot. Also, there wasn't a phone list to contact different departments. small things..

It was nice to open the windows though, and it was actually quiet at night.

Room Tip: try for a park view!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCTraveler3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have frequented this hotel for some time, principally when it was run by its previous Middle Eastern operators. I liked it then- I like it now.

As a newly minted Marriott (albeit JW Marriott, mind you) , my fear was that this venerable 1931 deco temple would move generic. They have run the place for 6 months now and they have kept it apparently intact.( perhaps a new rug on the 4th floor, I cannot be sure, but ugly whoever is responsible). Even the lovely photos in the lobby have been retained.

They have kept the lobby, improved the internet and there the fabled Marriott points available.

And the park and the Lincoln Center are right there. A joy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,336 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 468 in New York City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,464 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#259 of 468 in New York City
6,423 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $397 - $1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing