We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”
Review of Trip to Bountiful

Trip to Bountiful
Ranked #432 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was by far one of the best plays we have visit in recent years! Ms Tyson just continues to shine with the most outstanding performances year after year. The play help you see how we must stop to remember how the past can shape and mold us, respect our elderly and be grateful for what we have, not what we don't. The entire cast was fabulous. So glad we pick this play on our visit to New York!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cicely Tyson is a National Treasure”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ms. Tyson mesmerized us with her performance. There were moments when the audience dared not breath. The entire cast was outstanding and the experience one that I will long remember.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
376 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good performance”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I saw the play this evening and thought the actors and actresses did an outstanding job. Cicely tyson was superb and performed throughout the play. Vanessa Williams did well also. If you are in new york city before the 9th I recommend seeing this play. Great story line.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaplace49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cicely Tyson is remarkable!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A heartwarming tale of embracing growing old. Loved Cicely Tyson-she was amazing. Purchased tickets at the TCKTS booth for 40% off. A great deal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vmcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst-behaved audience. Ever.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want to see this compelling play, you may want to spring for the higher-priced seats in front. For one thing, you have to listen very carefully, especially to hear Cicely's voice. I chose the $51 mezzanine seats. In spite of a very specific and clear announcement before the play, I was amazed at the ongoing candy wrapping, plastic bottle popping, and worst of all, cellphone light and tones. A woman in my aisle apparently needed to check her eMail for the first 10 minutes of the 2nd act. The ushers did a good job of stopping this behavior throughout Act 1, but were nowhere to be seen in Act 2. It pretty much ruined our appreciation of this play.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 50207Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trip to Bountiful also viewed

 

Been to Trip to Bountiful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing