We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobu Downtown

Nobu Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #191 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good place , with great food and the staff was very kind and always present . But the price i think , was a little to high.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jlebreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    327
    150
    49
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Even better than what I had expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ordered the chef omakase, and the meal was everything you'd expect from Nobu, and then some. Our meal consisted of:

- Toro with wild berry
- Kampachi jalapeño with cilantro
- Tempura snow crab with black truffle and honey aioli and tempura plantain
- Black miso cod topped with seared foie gras and eggplant chips
- Chilean Sea bass. We ordered this separately, on top of the omakase
- Nigiri plate, with 5 pieces of fish
- Chocolate soufflé and green tea ice cream

My favorite was definitely the black miso cod with foie. Amazing. Both the foie and cod literally melted in my mouth.

My only complaints was that the rice in our nigiri seemed somewhat hard and undercooked. Strange, because you'd expect the rice at a place like Nobu to be absolutely perfect.

Nevertheless, the service was to perfection, and the ambiance was top notch. Nobu is definitely worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycbos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

While in NY and craving for Sushi, we were recommended to try Nobu! The decor, the ambiance, the FOOD!! One of the best place to eat out in NY!! Loved it.. And you never know.. You might bump into quiet famous guys! Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, but slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having eaten at Nobu in Vegas, I was looking for another good meal. Well, the food was good, but NYC falls short of Vegas from a service standpoint. Yes the food was good, especially the Black Cod with miso sauce. The miso soup and the Bento Chocolate box for dessert was very good. If you are here, it is good food, but for a better experience, go to Budakkan, great food and good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuckyJoeBullgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic but staff could be nicer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to Nobu with some friends for lunch and had the most amazing meal. The sushi was great and I had the Nobu signature black cod which was just divine. We were there with a new born baby asleep in a pram and the waiters were obviously not very pleased with that even though she slept the whole way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yasmeen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Downtown also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nobu Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing