We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspirational and unique experience together with outstanding ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobu Downtown

Nobu Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #191 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Zurich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Inspirational and unique experience together with outstanding ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is truly a unique spot in NYC. We went for the chefs special incl KoBe beef and chose to enjoy our meal at the bar. Highly recommendable as the chefs look as though they actually enjoy their work. We enjoyed every bit and piece.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuridane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    327
    150
    49
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
“Biggest disappointment of the trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Really looked forward to visiting Nobu on a recent trip to NY.What a let down.Worst tempura I have ever had ! ( I have eaten my fair share of it too ) Other dishes uninspiring and over priced. First time I have ever complained at a restaurant about the food but it was just so disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ny2012trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellant Japanese Restaurant, not best sushi in NYC though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great Japanese restaurant in NYC, very trendy place with hard to get tables at time but very overpriced. That being said, the lobster and shitiki salad is great, you'll get almost an entire lobster in that salad and its a great dish that you won't see often. The miso glazed cod is a great dish here as well but nice Nobu started this dish you'll see it recreated at most high-end japanese restaurants. In terms of sushi there isn't the most creative menu and I think the best bet is to stick with the sashimi, especially the new style sashimis. Rock shrimp tempura is a great dish they Nobu does better then most comparable restaurants. For japanese restaurants I would give this an A, although factoring in value I think B would be a better score ($42 for lobster salad when lobster prices hover around $5/lb is very steep), and I find their sushi menu rather average in comparison to other NYC high end sushi restaurant, but Nobu won't let you down and offers a hip trendy scene and is enjoyable for that factor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Palace Cancun
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trendy place, average food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are looking for a trendy place, this would be a good choice in NYC, if you are looking for great food, search somewhere else.
I was hoping to find amazing food and presentations, actually we went for dinner only to see the presentations because we work in the industry, but waht we find you can find it anywhere else, and lot cheaper, for example chopsticks are the same that you get in any takeaway chinese restaurant, that is amazing for the prices and the quality you are suppose to get in that kind of place.
Any way if you like to see and be seen, may be you will like it....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Alway Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

As always, we had a fantastic meal! Yellowtail with jalopeno, red snapper with garlic flakes, miso cod, rock shrimp... The list goes on and my mouth is watering just thinking of the meal. Everyone must try this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AGold25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Downtown also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nobu Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing