We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location and Spacious Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Apple Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Apple Hostel
ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Spacious Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was surprised to find a shared dorm for 2 in the heart of Time Square, and it turned out quite spacious. The sheet was clean. Staff were friendly. The facility is quite OK for a cheap hostel. There was no internet in the room, but only in the lobby. Although it is possible to borrow internet from next-door pub.

The location is so convenient that I can carry a small bag and go back to have a rest or get dressed between visiting museums, having dinners and watching a Broadway show. I bought a New York Subway card, but did not have chance to use it as I spent most of the time around Time Square.

Cons: I have a room facing 45th St.. It was very noisy, unfortunately. Delivery trucks drove by starting from 6~7am and the music from street stopped after midnight.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the street. You can get a small discount if you pay by cash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rileydong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
5
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Big Apple hostel was exactly what we needed as students needing a bed to sleep in for a few nights - the location could not be better - literally on Times Square! But that is about all there is to rave about. Our stay was comfortable: a spacious double room, wi-fi in the lobby and decent bathroom facilities. Only worries were security (just anyone can come chill in the lobby) and a funny smell in the lobby. So a no-frills hostel, but it was perfect for what we needed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hostel would suit someone wanting just a place to crash near times sq. no hostel atmopshere and bare minumum facilties. our room just had 3 beds squeezed in and the air con was so noisy we had to sleep with ear plugs. Wifi didn't work and staff weren't very helpful. Can leave bags in basement after check out which is good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel is very well located, on the 45th street, just 3min walking distance from Times Square...
the bedroom is clean and nice

there were only two problem for me, whiche were the bathroom, but not scary at all and the free wifi...sometimes it just didnt work, no matters what you do...even the guy from the receptcion couldnt access

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Could not believe the location. So handy for sightseeing. The place was so clean and tidy. Was only just reopened when we stayed. The only thing negative I could say is that they have no handwash/soap in the toilets.

Great hostel.

Room Tip: Be careful with all the extra taxes. We thought it was going to be a bit cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

As the first review of this hostel, I feel a lot of pressure, but I stayed here only one night.

First things first: this place is the same as the old one in its spot. When I asked the surly man who checked me in, he refused that there was ever any other name for this hostel. The man who was at reception at night accepted that the hostel had been refurbished. In any case, for about 50$, I got a nice clean comfortable bed, in a room with just 2 beds (no typo there!). The room had an AC and a quite a bit of spcae. Most hostels would do 2 bunk beds in that room. There was a shwoer and a washroom to share between 4 rooms thouhg, and I had to wait a couple of minutes in the morning. Yet, the shwoers and the rooms were very clean. There is no soap in the washroom, and no towels provided (I suspect you could buy them).

There is an elevator to get you to the room, but there are no lockers in the room. You could leave your passport or your laptop with the recpetion. There was no wifi in the room and someone at the recpetion said that they would get it eventually- but now it was expensive. He, however, helped me connect with the wifi of the neighbouring pub!!

Ok, the best thing about this hostel is its location. YOu are literally one block away from times sqaure and its madness, 10 minutes from port authority bus terminus, 15 minutes from Madison Sq GArden., and 15 minutes from Grand Central. Could not ask for a better location, especially if you come in late or leave early.

There is no kitchen yet, but he gave me directions to a microwave. Not a party hostel, but an excellent space to get a night's sleep in this huge megapolis!

Room Tip: The men's section is towards the rear of the building- with no noise and no disturbance at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arc_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel St. James
Hotel St. James
#268 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#113 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#79 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#167 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#43 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel

Property: Big Apple Hostel
Address: 119 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4043
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 197 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our dormitory rooms with only 2 people per room. Private rooms with 2 twin-size bed with the possibility to accommodate a 3rd person. Private rooms equipped with a queen-size bed (for 1 or 2 people). All rooms are air conditioned. Bathrooms are shared. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing