We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Apple Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
$162
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$144
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$257
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$186
$169
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
12
35
10
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
35
10
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 61 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Big Apple hostel was exactly what we needed as students needing a bed to sleep in for a few nights - the location could not be better - literally on Times Square! But that is about all there is to rave about. Our stay was comfortable: a spacious double room, wi-fi in the lobby and decent bathroom facilities. Only worries were security (just anyone can come chill in the lobby) and a funny smell in the lobby. So a no-frills hostel, but it was perfect for what we needed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hostel would suit someone wanting just a place to crash near times sq. no hostel atmopshere and bare minumum facilties. our room just had 3 beds squeezed in and the air con was so noisy we had to sleep with ear plugs. Wifi didn't work and staff weren't very helpful. Can leave bags in basement after check out which is good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel is very well located, on the 45th street, just 3min walking distance from Times Square...
the bedroom is clean and nice

there were only two problem for me, whiche were the bathroom, but not scary at all and the free wifi...sometimes it just didnt work, no matters what you do...even the guy from the receptcion couldnt access

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Could not believe the location. So handy for sightseeing. The place was so clean and tidy. Was only just reopened when we stayed. The only thing negative I could say is that they have no handwash/soap in the toilets.

Great hostel.

Room Tip: Be careful with all the extra taxes. We thought it was going to be a bit cheaper.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As the first review of this hostel, I feel a lot of pressure, but I stayed here only one night.

First things first: this place is the same as the old one in its spot. When I asked the surly man who checked me in, he refused that there was ever any other name for this hostel. The man who was at reception at night accepted that the hostel had been refurbished. In any case, for about 50$, I got a nice clean comfortable bed, in a room with just 2 beds (no typo there!). The room had an AC and a quite a bit of spcae. Most hostels would do 2 bunk beds in that room. There was a shwoer and a washroom to share between 4 rooms thouhg, and I had to wait a couple of minutes in the morning. Yet, the shwoers and the rooms were very clean. There is no soap in the washroom, and no towels provided (I suspect you could buy them).

There is an elevator to get you to the room, but there are no lockers in the room. You could leave your passport or your laptop with the recpetion. There was no wifi in the room and someone at the recpetion said that they would get it eventually- but now it was expensive. He, however, helped me connect with the wifi of the neighbouring pub!!

Ok, the best thing about this hostel is its location. YOu are literally one block away from times sqaure and its madness, 10 minutes from port authority bus terminus, 15 minutes from Madison Sq GArden., and 15 minutes from Grand Central. Could not ask for a better location, especially if you come in late or leave early.

There is no kitchen yet, but he gave me directions to a microwave. Not a party hostel, but an excellent space to get a night's sleep in this huge megapolis!

Room Tip: The men's section is towards the rear of the building- with no noise and no disturbance at all. I was in room 46 with just two beds!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arc_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews