We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff as expected with Marriott owned property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Ranked #238 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This property is in the heart of Chinatown. I arrived very late and did not get a chance to eat but the front desk personnel provided menus to local restaurants with late night delivery. The staff was outstanding, helping me to my room with my bags (I was 7.5 months pregnant) and called us a car in the morning to get to our meeting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AM0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 368 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Newly renovated hotel right in Chinatown. Interesting restaurants within walking distance and subway nearby. Decent free breakfast and friendly front desk staff. There is a grocery store underneath the hotel which is very convenient. If i had one complaint it was that my inside room looked out over a roof/courtyard but let's face it, you aren't in New York to be in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTLSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We just had a great 2-day stay at this very clean, modern hotel on the cusp of Chinatown! The location is "okay." Nothing really to eat within walking distance, except Chinese food. We picked up 4 menus from the front desk for delivery. Two were Chinese, one Mexican and the other Italian. There is a small fish and produce market sort of under the hotel on the back side, but we didn't visit. There is a horrendous fish smell from the market that we smelled in the hotel elevators only. We didn't smell it in the halls, rooms or anywhere else in the hotel. We were on the 4th floor and didn't hear any super loud traffic - just regular city noises. Not sure about public transportation options. Our tour bus had a Chinatown stop about a mile from the hotel so we just walked. The staff was very helpful and friendly! The breakfast area was well stocked and clean. Overall, a great place to stay! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was recently renewed: the rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and heating and showers work properly. The included breakfast is delicious! The staff was very helpful: they searched informations for us and also answered immeaditely one request we made regarding room changing.The neighborhood is exotic (Chinatown) but safe enough, and is located really near the metro station. Wifi is free and works quite well. Definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatesoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

You can start your day with a delectable breakfast. They have shuttle service to nearest railway station every 30minutes.
Staff is very helpful.
Rooms are a bit ok. They have a good gymn too.
Grocery stores are very.much nearby

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank kennychristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold G, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Hello kennychristian,


Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our hotel property. We are happy to receive the comments you've shared with the TripAdvisor community. It is a pleasure to serve our guests during their stay and anything that we can do to help we will do. Please reach out to me I'd like to hear more about your stay. Safe Travels. Harold.Gonzalez@Marriott.com

-Harold Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed with a group; very clean, pretty much brand-new hotel in good condition. Staff was very helpful, breakfast was very good (and included). Biggest issue was the "king studio" room mentions "living/sitting area", which is actually a pull-out sofa right next to the king-size bed. Room is no bigger than any other room. Not the best location if you are looking to sight-see.

Room Tip: We were in room 404; we had a fantastic view of the Manhattan bridge, but we heard the subway rumbli...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisSteve06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Its actually really close to public transit and located in Chinatown. Train passes through the hotel and might be a little noisy.

If you go back to the hotel late, it might be a little dangerous since there isn't much light and other things. However, the price is really reasonable and good location for business purposes.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathtub and some doesn't, ask them for it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yi mien t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#344 of 468 in New York City
170 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#215 of 468 in New York City
589 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#269 of 468 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#347 of 468 in New York City
509 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#335 of 468 in New York City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Address: 95 Henry Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $150 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spacious guestrooms at the BRAND NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Downtown East, more than half of which are double queen bedded rooms. We will quickly become your new home away from home with thoughtful upgraded amenities like a wonderful free hot breakfast daily and a mini-fridge and microwave in every room. And staying connected is easy with complimentary WiFi in all rooms and public areas. Our newly constructed Downtown Manhattan hotel's accommodations are conveniently located in NYC/Manhattan/Downtown between Chinatown (known for its authentic cuisine and cultural background) and the Lower East Side (famous for its trendy nightlife, a melting pot of different cultures that provide a more local experience of the Big Apple). And we are just minutes away from all the exciting NYC attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing