We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small Business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Ranked #188 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small Business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Its actually really close to public transit and located in Chinatown. Train passes through the hotel and might be a little noisy.

If you go back to the hotel late, it might be a little dangerous since there isn't much light and other things. However, the price is really reasonable and good location for business purposes.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathtub and some doesn't, ask them for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yi mien t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    145
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
134
37
16
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel was a little gem in a busy city and close to Chinatown and Canal Street. The staff was extremely helpful and the hotel was in great condition with good sized rooms. Very good value for Manhanttan. just a 5 min walk to the subway .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County NY USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I can safely say that this was the nicest Fairfield Inn I've ever stayed in (and I've stayed in quite a few). The room was nicer than many "higher" Marriott rooms (e.g. Courtyards), and the arrival experience, upper lobby area, etc. were all quite good. Certainly an exceptionally good value for a Manhattan hotel. Very interesting neighborhood also (eastern Chinatown). Not quiet, since the Manhattan Bridge is a block away overhead with frequent subways rumbling -- but quiet is difficult to come by anywhere in Manhattan. As other reviewers have noted, it's new, so the high quality for the price may not be there in a few years, but for now it's a great choice. I did not detect any fishy smell.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing us for your stay in NYC. It is so nice to have the lively native NYC scene down here, especially when you get a room with a view of the bridge. Hoprfully you will come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Standard sized (small) rooms for any NYC hotel, but all the public areas (breakfast area, hallways, lobby, elevators) smelled intensely of fish. It was overpowering at times. Thankfully, the odor didn't make its way into the guestroom.

Comfy beds, fridge in the room, and coffee maker are nice amenities. Would be nice if they affiliated themselves with one of the local parking lots to make getting in and out easier.

Good value for the room as well for a NYC property.

Room Tip: The higher floors seemed to smell less of fish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are working vigilanty on any venting issues, and should have them resolved very soon, we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope to host you again on a future trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had a great stay in the Fairfield Inn. Hotel is still very new and everything in tip top condition. Breakfast was perfect for what we wanted and staff really helpful and friendly. The only downside was the fishy smell which comes and goes, however would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josherrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are working vigilanty on any venting issues, and should have them resolved very soon. As for everything else, we are in tip top shape! We hope to host you again on a future trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has a boutique feel but does not charge an arm and a leg. Not a massive hotel and sometimes in the past month as cheap as medium city hotel prices. It is around half what I pay for a normal New York hotel. Location is okay with easy subway access. Neighborhood (Chinatown) has a lot characters.

Gym is small and no on site laundry facility (33 rd Fairfield has it). Rooms are big and have refrigerator and microwave which comes in handy for leftovers. Like the breakfast buffet as well which comes free.

Highly recommend it. Will be back every month when in NYC if prices are still comparable .

Staff were so polite and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms are the same the three times I stayed there. But some have bathtubs and some have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TY828chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing us when you are in New York! We love to hear that we have repeat guests, especially when we are so new. You are correct about the bathrooms, some offer only showers, and some have both. You are more than welcome to request either and we will be more than happy to accommodate providing it is available. Feel free to call ahead before you arrive to get your request in asap. The direct number to the hotel is 212.227.0709.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have stayed all over Manhattan, BK and Queens and made this hotel my home for NYC. Love the amenities (microwave and fridge for every room). Location is pretty good (one block from F train). And I love the free breakfast spread. It is the only Fairfield Inn that has blueberry waffles and the breakfast area is not too crowded even during the peak hours.

Rooms are very good size for NYC hotels. Trust me other NYC hotels have very small rooms.

Staff are very friendly and Lucy and Christine always are professional and friendly, making everyone feel welcome.

I highly recommend this hotel to first-time travelers to NYC.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decently sized for NYC hotels. But some rooms can be close to the Manhattan bridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lza129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Fairfield Inn Manhattan Downtown for your recent stay! We are always thrilled to hear praise for the property, and most of all the staff! We have an amazing team here, and that makes it easy for us to bring stellar service to you, the loyal guest. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
#233 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#164 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#348 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#186 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#204 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#131 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Address: 95 Henry St, New York City, NY 10002-7012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spacious guestrooms at the BRAND NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites, more than half of which are double queen bedded rooms. We will quickly become your new home away from home with thoughtful upgraded amenities like a wonderful free hot breakfast daily and a mini-fridge and microwave in every room. And staying connected is easy with complimentary WiFi in all rooms and public areas. Our newly constructed property is conveniently located in NYC/Manhattan/Downtown between Chinatown (known for its authentic cuisine and cultural background) and the Lower East Side (famous for its trendy nightlife, a melting pot of different cultures that provide a more local experience of the Big Apple). And we are just minutes away from all the exciting NYC attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing