We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value-for-money spot in Chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Ranked #201 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value-for-money spot in Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Fairfield Inn is in a quiet corner of Chinatown, only a few minutes walk from Wall Street and South Street Seaport. There are some nice, trendy bars and restaurants nearby which is convenient.
Rooms are a good size (very good size for NYC) and the beds are very comfortable (definitely up to Marriott standard). Breakfast is also good, with a great range of hot and cold options, fresh fruit (always a plus) and good selection of teas. I still don't understand why NYC hotels go for styrofoam plates, but there you go...

The staff are young and friendly and rooms were clean (the hotel is very new so enjoy it while everything is in tip top condition).

Unlike most Manhattan hotels, you will not hear much street noise as this hotel is in a quiet spot.
Yes, there is a Chinese supermarket that sells fish downstairs and some fishy smell can sometimes be noticeable near reception, but this is far from a big deal. In fact, the floors where rooms are smell nice.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great find in downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slickricspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    153
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
153
48
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had a 4 night stay here and it was pretty good. Rooms are a decent size and beds are COMFY! Room and overall cleanliness of the hotel was really good. Location is just ok. It is very convenient to Brooklyn and downtown but the subway station and nearby streets seemed to attract some iffy characters. I never felt unsafe walking around the area, just didn't really like it. There is also a bus (M15) that stops very close if you feel uncomfortable walking around at night.

As previous reviews have stated there is a fishy smell in the hallways & sometimes elevator. The smell never came in the room so it wasn't the end of the world. I wouldn't say the street noise was bad but you could definitely hear the subway passing over the bridge if you listened closely.

Staff here were very friendly and welcoming although I never had to ask any questions or interact with them much. Breakfast is very standard hotel breakfast but it was good. Fruit, breads, waffles, eggs etc to keep you going until lunch. Coffee was also good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank endingstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Overall, this was a good place to stay. We experienced a lot of the same things as mentioned in other reviews. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms and common areas are kept very clean. Our room was a little on the small side (even for NY) but we had great amenities, including a fridge and microwave in the room which were convenient. Free wi-fi and breakfast really add to the value offered by this hotel. We did not experience any problems with noise. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the subway (F train at East Broadway) so it is easy to get around the city and it is only about a 10-15 minute walk to Little Italy/Chinatown. There are some fast food restaurants and convenience stores a block or two away. There is a strange fish/garbage odor in the common areas. Sometimes it is overpowering and other times it is non-existent. The hotel staff said that they know the cause and are taking serious steps to rectify the problem. As many others have said, we never had any bad odor in our room, it's really mainly in the lobby. I would definitely consider staying there again once the odor problem is taken care of.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MojitoLoverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will definitely appreciate you for recognizing them! We welcome our guests with the same hospitality that we welcome our own family & friends with. Our neighbor is taking proactive steps in correcting the smell.

The location is a very interesting neighborhood being between the Lower East Side and Chinatown. Their are hundreds of wonderful and authentic restaurants just steps away in Little Italy specializing in Italian cuisine. Chinese, Malaysian and Korean delights throughout Chinatown and Orchard Street has many diverse options like Austrian, Spanish, BBQ and Cajun Seafood. The hotel is also walking distance to SoHo with miles of wonderful shopping venues.

We hope to welcome you again soon! All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / 212.227.0709
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Would agree with most of the recent reviews of this hotel. Very accommodating staff, strong fish smell in lobby and elevator (and sometimes in the breakfast area). As a native new yorker, I've long ago known this to be the smell of a market area, and a good part of chinatown has smelled this way for decades. As the surrounding neighborhood is part of the hugely enlarged chinatown area (which used to be just a bunch of blocks south of Canal street, but is now voluminous -- we must have traded land for national debt, much like buying manhattan for wampum) odors like this are to be expected, and are really kind of business natural. Just not used to smelling them inside a hotel. The hotel, as others said, is relatively new, clean, very nice, comfy beds, inexpensive, but somewhat basic. Nothing really to see or do in the immediate neighborhood, but subway and bus are not far away, so the world is at your feet (assuming you have big feet). Sleep was interrupted at midnight by private garbage truck loading up, but this IS new york, y'know.

Room Tip: Al rooms are likely to be noisy, but the traffic noise facing Pike street is probably less than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shrek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I am rating this hotel as a good budget hotel but this hotel is in no way up to the normal Marriott standards. The positives: Easy access from Grand Central, good breakfast available to guests, free WiFi, and the rooms were clean. The negatives: the entrance, lobby, elevators, WiFi, and breakfast area all had that fishy aroma as stated in previous reviews. The hotel tries to mask the smell with a fruity air freshener which provokes gag reflexes. We stayed on the 2nd floor over the grocery store - from early morning on there was a continual banging noise and people talking very loudly. When we decided to walk by we saw that the noise was the workers loading the conveyor belts. We mentioned the noise to hotel staff but not much they can do about noise and smell. Again rates were pretty decent for NYC but the old saying you get what you pay for seems appropriate.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel is new. So rooms are nice and clean. This is not a business stay hotel. Great for couple or family who is looking for economical hotel and going to spending a LOT of time outside hotel visiting the sites and museums of NYC. Location is basically in Chinatown not far from Canal Street (heart of Chinatown). The subway is only two blocks away and you can get to any sightseeing locations using the economical subway. However would recommend cab if coming back late (after midnight) to hotel. Basic breakfast but its free! Wireless is also free. Overall a very favorable experience and the staff was very helpful and congenial. Again, don't stay at this hotel if you are looking for places to eat and hang out around the hotel but rather economical room with intentions of getting out early each day and coming back at night to sleep. As far as the noise complaints on previous entries, I stayed on 6th floor facing street and did not hear the train going over Manhattan Bridge.

Room Tip: High floor facing Pike Street (main street and not the street you use to enter the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronxhaole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This should be seen as a budget hotel, and as such, a very good one.

I disagree that the hotel is poorly located - it depends entirely on the trip you have planned. For us, splitting our time between Brooklyn and midtown, it was very convenient with the subway station just a block and a half away. It was also extremely convenient for exploring the shops and restaurants of the Lower East Side. However, there is nothing in the very immediate vicinity for restaurants and such - you need to be willing to walk a bit, or hop on the subway.

The hotel does have this weird fishy smell going on - in the lobby, elevator, and hallways, but not the room at all. Very unfortunate, it didn't bother me, hopefully something can be done about it, but I mention it in case it's a deal-breaker for somebody.

Our double queen room was not huge, but had the best comfy beds and pillows - nice clean bathroom. We were on the street side of the hotel and had no noise problems whatsoever.

Rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, and there is a tiny very well equipped little shop in the lobby with pop and snacks and such instead of vending machines.

The breakfast buffet is very nice for this type of hotel, very clean and well kept up. The breakfast room is spacious (when we got there early) with a pretty view of the Brooklyn Bridge.

I found the staff great, quite friendly and very helpful.

All in all, if you consider it a budget hotel, and understand its location, I think it is a great hotel and choice. I would stay there again if I got a great rate.

Room Tip: We had a Pike Street facing room, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcwhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#345 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Address: 95 Henry Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spacious guestrooms at the BRAND NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Downtown East, more than half of which are double queen bedded rooms. We will quickly become your new home away from home with thoughtful upgraded amenities like a wonderful free hot breakfast daily and a mini-fridge and microwave in every room. And staying connected is easy with complimentary WiFi in all rooms and public areas. Our newly constructed Downtown Manhattan hotel's accommodations are conveniently located in NYC/Manhattan/Downtown between Chinatown (known for its authentic cuisine and cultural background) and the Lower East Side (famous for its trendy nightlife, a melting pot of different cultures that provide a more local experience of the Big Apple). And we are just minutes away from all the exciting NYC attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing