We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the Best!”

Rosa Mexicano - Union Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosa Mexicano - Union Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #675 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between 5th and Broadway
Transit: Union Square Subway (L,N,Q,R,W,4,5,6)
Description: Just blocks away from Manhattan's lively Union Square, our third New York location provides a warm and vibrant setting for our award-winning authentic Mexican cuisine. Designed by David Rockwell and launched in October 2005, this stunning restaurant features architectural accents inspired by the late, famed Mexican architect, Luis Barragan. The internally illuminated electric-blue tiled water wall features cliff diver figurines and candles among the cascading water to separate the bar from the main dining room. Warm terracotta and yellow colors with hot pink accents are featured throughout the restaurant as well as traditional, one-of-a-kind Mexican crafts, fabrics and artwork. This combination creates the perfect backdrop for the festive atmosphere and innovative Mexican cuisine of Rosa Mexicano.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just the Best!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Fabulous seafood for mains and the guacamole entrée was prepared at the table and was delicious. Good wine, nice atmosphere, good service, reasonable pricing .. easy walking distance from Union Square - what more could you ask!! Probably the best food we had in NYC. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SQ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    138
    41
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
755 reviews
604 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Big Mexican. Really should have three and a half stars”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Busy noisy modern Mexican. There is a long bar good for an afterwork drink. Beef Mestizas enchilada $22 very tasty with tender beef and good flavors. The vegetable tacos $17 was a smaller meal. The house merlot was fine. We didn't have the guacamole which is prepared fresh at your table but it looked good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great time!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This was an engagement celebration. Unfortunately, we originally made the reservation for the wrong date. It was very busy, but Lili got us a table within 15 minutes. Thank you Lili..

The service was timely and attentive. My niece and fiancé felt very special. The food/ drinks were perfect for our celabration. Thanks also to Eddie our server. He was right there whenever we needed anything.

Management sent over a sample desert plate for the table. This was unexpected and finished off the evening with a flourish.

Thanks again to everyone at Rosa Mexicano. We will return!


  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the most enjoyable restaurant in NYC”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

When the guacamole is prepare at your table and the great atmosphere at the restaurant, and the food is so great, you can't go wrong!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerenbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great guacamole!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were shopping in the neighborhood and decided to have lunch here. Sometimes a chain is just a chain, but Rosa Mexicano gets a lot of things right. Best guacamole made right at your table in big stone mortar and pestle bowls. I tried the Cuban sandwich (hesitantly because Miami is THE place for Cuban sandwiches) and I was not disappointed. My sandwich was chock full and deliciously garlicky. My friend had the short rib enchiladas. Yummy! The service was friendly and the decor is fun. Our fellow diners all looked happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amalfitana_Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano - Union Square also viewed

 

Been to Rosa Mexicano - Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing