We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check it out!”
Review of Susanna Pizzeria - CLOSED

Susanna Pizzeria
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Salem, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check it out!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I've eaten a lot of pizza in NY before (Grimaldis, Lombardis, and many other of the well known joints as well as many small less well known joints). The pizza at Suzanna's is by far one of my favorites. The crust is perfectly thin, cooked all the way through, not burnt, and not floppy at any point. The flavor of the crust is delicious and the texture is about as good as it gets. The sauce is very fresh; not a sweet sauce, but a very fresh tasting, Italian style sauce. They use the perfect amount of sauce, in my opinion, but I'm not a fan of a ton of sauce on pizza. The cheese is delicious and compliments the pizza well. This is a light pizza compared to some others that you try (thin, but not dry or cracker-y at all), but I was very impressed by the total package this pizza offers. I was lured in by a free slice offered in front of the store, came back the next day, and was very impressed. Fold-able slices, if that's your thing.

We also tried a desert: the Fritteroles. Delicious. Creamy chocolate coating over a delicious creampuffs. Highly recommended and incredibly tasty.

Also, BYOB with many stores near by to grab whatever you feel like.

My one and only minor complaint is that I would like a bit more pepperoni on the pepperoni pizza. The pepperoni itself was very good quality, but I wish there were just a few more on the pie. The overall pie itself though was great and I will definitely be back. Not greasy, just fresh, relatively light, and delicious pizza.

Also great outdoor area, very friendly waiters, and a nice bathroom, too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great value”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here on a recent visit to NYC. Had the Insalata Giulia, and it was fresh & delicious. For our main, we ordered the Pizza Capriciosa -- delicious and the small pizza was definitely enough for two for lunch. Very impressed & will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, fantastic pizza”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was the most surprisingly enjoyable meal we had in NY :) I say surprising because we were just looking for a quick bite before our comedy show around the corner, and the front of the restaurant looks pretty generic.

Surprise 1: They have a really cute outdoor area in the back.

Surprise 2: Great service by a nice guy called Saki who was very helpful and genuinely interested in our stay and the comedy show we were going to see. He also told us about how businesses in the village helps each other out, which brings us to..

Surprise 3: The restaurant is "bring your own beer". We ran across the street to a grocery store and bought some fantastic local organic beer.

Surprise 4: The pizza was AMAZING. Without a doubt one of the best pizzas we have ever had. If The show hadn't forced us to leave we would have stayed for seconds ;)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Caetano do Sul, SP
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEST PIZZA in New York!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

On 182 Bleecker street, in the heart of the Village, you can find a real gem! This new pizzeria is owned by Italians who take turns between their Verona, Italy, pizzerias and New York. You can get a thin crusty delicious pizza in a modern environment and pay a low price for it. Very high quality ingredients brought directly from Italy are used in every pizza. If you like pizza, don't leave New York without trying out Susanna Pizzeria where true authentic Italian pizzas are served. Yummyyyyy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good spot”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good food, fresh ingredients. Went with a large group. Good for kids!
No tablecloths,adequate service. Nice pizzeria

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susanna Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing