We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Delightful Italiano!”
Review of Gradisca

Gradisca
Reserve with OpenTable
Gradisca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,856 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Between 6th Ave. & 7th Ave.
Transit: 14 St. (1, 2, 3) 6 Ave. (L) 14 St. (F, M)
Description: Committed to offering the most authentic Italian dining experience outside of Italy since our opening in the fall of 2000, Gradisca captures the charm and warmth of a true trattoria. The menu is classic Italian with a modern twist, using the freshest organic and local ingredients possible. The Wine Spectator-awarded wine list is all-Italian, and includes more than one hundred wines from all of the twenty regions of Italy.
Joplin, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious and Delightful Italiano!”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Home made pastas - 'Mama's specials' (tonight it was home made ravioli with ricotta and buffola mozzarella - sauteed in butter with fresh sage) and an extensive wine list. A hidden gem close to union station. The service was impeccable - ( we did have to ask them to back off at one point so we could enjoy the moment) and you must MUST try the blood orange martini. Trust me on this.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Authentic and Charming”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stopped in about 715pm on a Tuesday night and were seated promptly (no reservation). The Italian hostess was charming, welcoming and uber friendly, as was the Italian server.
Indeed, the bus boys/runners were super efficient and friendly, too.

To the food - delicious. Polenta/meatball app was good - polenta ok, but meatball outstanding. Gnocci so fresh and homemade - best gnocci I've ever eaten. Chicken cotaletta with prosciutto was amazing, though the spinach tart side dish was only so so.

Great wine - at normal prices (for house choices).

Overall a rare wonderful experience where environment, food and service all align to near perfection (note service/hostess were absolute perfection).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, too noisy on Friday”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Four of us had a great meal here on a Friday night. Our server was terrific, made great recommendations, and steered us to a terrific and reasonably priced Barolo. The two lasagna dishes were the best we’ve ever tasted. The other pastas were extremely fresh. The braised meat was very rich and tender. One of the best Italian meals we’ve had. The bad news is that you had to shout to be heard. We acclimated, and then as diners left by 10:00 it was a little better, except that the music that had been in the background was now very loud, blasting through bad speakers that made it worse. We asked if they could turn the music down, and were told that management wanted it loud on Friday and Saturday nights. So, if you want great food and a pleasant experience, don’t come here on a weekend. We went for the food and wine, and I would assume others do as well. Why detract from an exceptional great dining experience with such bad taste in ambience?

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNest_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent italian”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

low key inside, but food was very good. I had the langustino and pasta and it was a light flavorful sauce. the caprese salad was also excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank charleneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere with OK service.”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was thrilled when I walked in and saw the Italian "Nonna" making pasta by hand and greating all the guests with "Buona Sera." A great first impression for sure.

We had a little wait for our table which was just fine as we enjoyed waiting at the (little) bar for an excellent, hand-crafted cocktail. The drinks were perfect.

Once seated it took a little while for our waiter to get around to us. However, it was the week before Christmas and the place was packed. So while I was not thrilled with the service, I'm going to assume a major cause was the fact that they were simply slammed with a lot of large parties. They were very attentive with water, clearing plates and everything else.

The menu is not huge but everything on it sounded fantastic. There is also a chef's choice where they provide a six course meal, but they were unable to do it due to how busy they were that night. So we decided to just order a number of dishes to share.

The antipasti were hard to choose from as they all sounded amazing. The eggplant parmagiana dish was outstanding as was their meat and cheese plate with perfectly sliced prosciutto, mortadella and more.

The gnocchi with black truffle sauce were amazing. Everything else we ordered was on the specials menu including sweet breads and pasta with baby clams. Everything was excellent.

The wine list is excellent, but many of the better wines were simply priced out of this world. I wish they had a better selection of Brunello's, for example, in the $80 - $100 range.

Overall, it was a great experience and I will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gradisca also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gradisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing