We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Ranked #124 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Yes the rooms are not huge, yes there is no grand reception, yes there is no room service BUT it does have, comfy beds, big TV, good bathroom facilities with excellent lighting and make-up mirror in addition to a powerful hair dryer (unusual for USA).

I stayed here on business for two nights and it was a 3 minute walk to Grand Central Subway to get downtown. Right near shopping and restaurants.

Previous reviewers mention the top floor lounge, it is excellent with complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day and good office facilities in addition to great views of the city.

Would stay again if in NYC

Room Tip: Go high up for less noise, I was on 16th floor and was not affected at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalPalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 664 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Good location. Easy booking. Couple of blocks from Grand Central Station. Newly redone. Modest size rooms but everything is new. Nice bathrooms and bedding. Good value for a quick stay in NY. Just off Lexington. Small lobby area and checkin. Nice lounge on top floor for guests to hang out. Close to Many restaurants and short walk to Times Square. MTA Train access nearby. Sign up for their liberal awards program. Earn free nights. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Helped with luggage and extra pillows. Will return on future visits to New York. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

2 blocks from Grand Central, squeaky clean and new, small-ish rooms fitted out like boats with extreme space efficiency. Comfy bed with nice sheets and pillows. Big TV. Keurig coffee machine and pods. Built in bench seats with table for dining or work. Outlets and cords to support your devices. 27th floor terrace and "living room" for all guests. All this at an extremely good price. I will look at this brand first for NY and London. I spent the previous two nights on business at the tired, cramped Roosevelt and moved here for an extra solo personal night, a step up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for just one night as part of a quick stop to New York. It is reasonably enough priced for a new york hotel. It has a great location approximately 2 blocks I think from Grand Central so it was very handy just to get off the train and not to walk too far to our hotel. The staff were all very friendly and the hotel was clean. The reception area is small and could do with some chairs to sit on while you wait for bags etc. but that is only a very minor issue. Every floor has a filtered water dispenser with bottles as well which is a nice touch for the tourist who wants to explore the city! Also on the 27th floor is the club lounge, which you get in all the club Quarter hotels, they are just in different areas in the hotel. This lounge provides free tea and coffee, which was quite nice, but also free cans of soda and nibbles, an extra bonus. From the club lounge there is a lovely terrace from which you can get a great view of the Chrysler Building - which is extra beautiful at night. We stayed on the 24th floor and the noise from the street was still quite loud even with the windows closed, so I would suggest staying on a high floor as it can only be louder lower down!! Weirdly I think this may also be known as the Boutique Hotel Grand Central. The hotels are other side of the same city block and are connected internally. They do have two separate entrances though, separate reception desks so I couldn't be sure!!! I think it is both the Club Quarters and All is all a great hotel for short trips to the city!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise but it is New York and you are going to get this at most hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bub2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If being in the heart of mid-town Manhattan is important, this is the place for you. If a hotel room is a place to collapse after a busy day or boozy night, this is the place for you. If you want free WiFi and cold water on tap, this is the place for you. If you want breathing space, a bath tub, a view of the city, and some of the glam of the Big Pomme, look elsewhere. The rooms have all the charm and dimensions of a monastic cell, but you may feel heavenly by the money you save.

Room Tip: The higher you go the greater the chance of seeing the Chrysler building. But you need to book well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had only stayed in one other Club Quarters, in Washington, DC, and it's a pit, so I was worried about staying here. But, a colleague said it's nice, so I gave it a try, and he's right. The price was much lower than any other hotel on my company's preferred list, and there's a reason. Services offered are minimal, the lobby is tiny, the rooms are small (though they are small in many other NYC hotels). The place has been recently updated and I saw no evidence of construction going on. As noted in other reviews the common area on the top floor is very nice, with a great outdoor space. The room was nicely furnished - the only the thing it lacked was a safe. At first I was upset there was no iron and board, but it turned out there's a supply closet in the hall with those, extra pillows, and so forth. For the money, on a business trip, this was fine.

Room Tip: Higher is better, both for light and for avoiding street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel with a friend for a 2 night stay. It very comfortable, easy to find and good central location for New York City. The staff was pleasant and courteous. We arrived early and were able to drop our bags off but upon returning to get a coat for walking I was unable to get my luggage because it was up in the room but the room was not ready. This was the only negative aspect of my stay. The hotel room was very accomodating, tv, shower and bathroom were clean and roomy. The hotel has a floor on the top for the guests for coffee, espresso, etc. with tvs, daily newspapers and comfortable seating for all guests. It was a very nice surpise. This floor/area also has an outdoor patio (very good size) for guests to go outside and see the city while having coffee and/or reading. I found the outdoor patio to be a wonderful addition to see and hear the sounds of the city from above.

Room Tip: Our room itself did not have a great view, only if you like seeing the backside of an apartment buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 470 in New York City
547 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#204 of 470 in New York City
1,565 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#106 of 470 in New York City
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#93 of 470 in New York City
966 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#285 of 470 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central

Address: 128 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3104
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $138 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Grand Central provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in New York's premier Midtown location, near Grand Central Station, the Chrysler Building and United Nations complex. The hotel offers many complimentary services including fast WiFi throughout, chilled, purified water stations with refillable water bottles, fitness center and access to the Club Living Room - a lounge-like area for socializing, relaxing, or working with inviting seating, computer workstations, and wireless network printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing