We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, good location, very frosty staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location, very frosty staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Really good rooms, FAR nicer than the one at the Rockerfeller Centre. Everything is new, the lifts were fast and efficient, the room was spacious, loved the location. One huge downside was the staff, oh my goodness they were so rude, uninterested and positively frosty to the guests. But you know what, we just ignored them and got on with it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    222
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
82
175
46
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
none
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed in CQ for 8 days and i must say excelent hotel just one block from Grand Central Terminal where you can take subway for most of lines and 5-7 blocks from 5th avenue and time square.

I got small club room which was good size for one guest, all furnitures are quite new and very clean. Small club room might be not good for couples with 4 luggages.

CQ also offer free wifi, free bottle of water Must say that. 27th floor is amazing where can offer 24h free sodas, free coffee machine,snacks, cpu and printers.

Staff very cordial and nice.

For sure i will recommend this hotel for all my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

In the course of 4 weeks, I had 2 stays at this hotel. I chose it b/c of the price and most of all, the convenience for business travellers. When I travel on business, and I'm either on my dime or a client's dime, I like to keep it simple, but I want things. Like plenty of outlets for charging devices. Conveniences like the free cold distilled water. Free sodas and snacks in the lounge. The workout area was ehh, but I walked about 2-3 miles a day so it was ok. If you can, I recommend the superior room, which has a kitchenette and a cool dining/work table. It just opened so there were a few bugs, but overall I was very pleased with the service and the people who worked there.

One hint -- there are limited number of irons and ironing boards in a common room on each floor, so if you are like me and iron everything when you arrive, you may have to hunt around on a different floor if yours are all gone. That being said, it is packed up each day by housekeeping and returned to the common area, so no one can use it and forget it in their room.

The ability to order from neighboring restaurants and have it charged to the room was also a great convenience. Just one word on that -- as a San Franciscan, the hoopla about Rickshaw Dumplings is just that -- your neighborhood Chinese joint serves better dumplings.

The location, on the other hand, can't be beat. You have all the subway lines at Grand Central, great neighborhood conveniences on Lexington Ave, and you're just a few minutes away from the insanity of overindulgence called 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

First impression not so great - two different groups were having issues with front desk staff while I was waiting to check in, and they didn't look happy at all. When it was my turn though they were very efficient and quickly found me a room,even though I arrived hours before their official check in time. Staff were very polite throughout my stay.
Room was quite small but perfectly fine for one person (for two it might have felt a little claustrophobic but they probably have other rooms to choose from).
Hotel is new and everything works well. Free wifi was perfect. Lounge on the 27th floor is great, especially when you arrive late at night and just want to drink a tea or coffee or grab something quick to eat. I didn't experience any of the issues with elevators that previous reviewers had.
Location is perfect. Right next to Grand Central with easy connections to anywhere else in Manhattan. Area is very quiet at night and I had no problems with noise.
I had stayed at a Club Quarters before in London and this property is much newer and more pleasant. It's not a 5 star hotel and neither does it pretend to be. To say that it's no frills wouldn't be fair either as it would be perceived as having no services - a lot of what you need is there, you just have to ask or read the instructions (e.g. there isn't an iron in the room but there are instructions on where to find one)
For the price I paid and the location and cleanliness, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

First time to NYC and we loved it. Took my daughter for her 18th birthday and had a blast. Club Quarters Grand Central was all that and more!!

Yes the rooms are a bit small but very clean, comfortable and modern. Service was quick, staff polite with free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast, snacks and soda 24 hours was an added bonus! I left my phone charger at home and they lent me a brand new universal charger for the duration of my stay. I needed the iron and someone brought it to me within 3 minutes of me calling! Whenever we seen an employee of the hotel whether in the hallway or elevator they always said good morning, good day and acknowledged us - good customer service goes a long way.

The only small negative was the elevators were slow at times but nothing to complain about. They also gave us a complimentary box of chocolates for this inconvenience....which I thought was not needed by nice all the same!

Located just six blocks from Times Square. Lots of shopping, restaurants, live shows and near by attractions. Price was below average than other hotels that are within walking distance to Times Square.

I am quite picky and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1606 - right in front of the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

After two consecutive nights in this hotel the second night was worse than the first...
The first night only one of the three elevators were working and on the second night, none of the elevators were not working. I was on the 9th floor! Hello stairs.
The rooms are tiny. The only seating in the room is a 50's diner type "L" shaped booth with a table fixed to the floor inches away from the seat. Totally unusable as anything except to unpack your bag which is on the table or booth because there is no suitcase stand in the non-existent closet where the non-existent iron and ironing board are not.
I have nothing to say positive about this 'brand new' property.

Room Tip: Not a good room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

First, let me start off by saying that the hotel rooms are small. Period. But I knew this going in - so they were exactly as expected - small.

That being said, the rooms were clean and nice and actually a little bit more spacious than I had anticipated. I've stayed at the Pod hotels - which for the money are a good deal - but they are actually smaller than these rooms. I preferred Club Quarters for my business travel, because it is less "clubby" feeling. More business travelers as Club Quarters, less partiers.

I'm giving these guys a 5 because I was actually pleasantly surprised by several things. The "Club Living Room" provides a free continental breakfast and coffee (limited variety - but quick and easy). It's set up nicely for business travelers - plenty of tables and workspaces.

The 5 rating comes because I had already checked out and went to my early meeting and had 5 hours to kill before my flight. So, I came back to the Club Quarters (my luggage was stored) and the staff was very accommodating. They let me work in the Club Lounge (with free lattes) while I waited for my flight.

I would definitely stay here again - especially if I'm looking for a good price in New York. If you are looking for spacious and luxurious, this is not it - you'll need to fork over the money to stay at a more upscale hotel. But I'm super particular - and this place is quite nice, just really small rooms.

Summary:
- Nice staff
- Good place for business travelers on a budget
- Great location
- Nice rooms - clean, modern (hotel appears to be new or newly remodeled) - just small
- The biggest downfall is the windows don't appear to be highly insulated and you can hear the street noise really well
- Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Address: 128 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3104
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Grand Central provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in New York's premier Midtown location, near Grand Central Station, the Chrysler Building and United Nations complex. The hotel offers many complimentary services including fast WiFi throughout, chilled, purified water stations with refillable water bottles, fitness center and access to the Club Living Room - a lounge-like area for socializing, relaxing, or working with inviting seating, computer workstations, and wireless network printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing