We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Great Group Meal”
Review of Feast

Feast
Reserve with OpenTable
Feast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,576 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Great Group Meal”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Let's qualify this review somewhat from the start: Having dinner at Feast is NOT a usual dining experience. It is hard to imagine dining here alone, given the format, or even as a couple. For that matter, if yours is a large group that has different tastes, good luck not starting out with a food fight. This is the deal: Your group settles on ONE Feast choice, which you all share in. The interesting part is that the food is prepared and served as a cross between Tapas (portion size and variety) and Family style (all served at one time, in two separate courses, sandwiched by a light appetizer and a desert). If I have you confused, don't worry. Bottom line is you will get plenty to eat, the food is absolutely amazing, and the only decision besides beverages is which of three Feasts to choose from.

Of course, if you party cannot agree on one Feast that makes everyone happy, you are in trouble. May I suggest that you do not pair vegans with carnivores... it just isn't gonna happen. If your group is flexible, you can be delighted by any of the three choices, IMHO.

Our Feast Choices were a Farmer's Market Feast featuring a vegetarian menu, a Salmon Feast featuring salmon and complimentary dishes, and our choice,the Game Feast featuring trout, boar, quail, venison, duck, and bass... yes, a total of nine dishes in all (true of all three feasts). Individually, these are Tapas sized portions, prepared and presented expertly.

The restaurant itself is somewhat small and cozy... but, we were served in a cellar dining area that was well lit and gave us a bit of extra room to stretch out... PLUS lots of special attention from the staff. The entire experience could not have been better -- from food, to ambiance, to service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lower Manhattan surprise”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Customer suggested this place as opposed to the branded steak houses all thru NYC. Reservations were easy, location was cab friendly. After reading previous posts I agree this restaurant is what you would think is a locale in Brooklyn, narrow with limited seating, but a neighborhood hang. We decided to get the beef feast, which was served Tapas-like with many small portions rather than a steak and a side. The process was to bring various servings of different types, and the portions were small enough that I didnt get too full prior to the entree portion. Only beer and wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffLowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Welcome relief from the pressures of choice”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the problems with dining at restaurants with great food is that on any single visit you can only taste a small portion of the full menu. Feast has ingeniously solved this issue by simplifying the menu choice to one of three complete, themed meals made up of a variety of small (but satisfying) plates. In a single visit you have tasted a third of the entire menu. And what a menu it is!

Service is impeccably friendly and the atmosphere is refreshingly laid back, particularly given the high-dining experience. If the prices were $10 less, I would eat here twice a week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Brooklyn-style Brunch”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I came from Brooklyn to meet my friends for Brunch here. It reminded me a lot of Brunch back in Brooklyn, which is a compliment ... but also it was a shame to have Brooklyn brunch at Manhattan prices. Excellent music. Good staff. Large portions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing menu”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is good for those who like to try everything on the menu but hate to have to choose just one entree. They have 3 different "feasts", vegetarian, some kind of seafood and some kind of meat. The menus change seasonally.

I've been there twice already for their seafood menu, once was scallop the other was salmon, and I thoroughly enjoyed both. And it is a guarantee that you will walk out of there full.

The atmosphere is nice, dim not loud, so I would recommend for a date night or birthday or just a random get together.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Em L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feast also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Feast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing