We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anassa Taverna

Anassa Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Anassa Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #995 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gem of a spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at Anassa Taverna multiple times now, and am gradually making my way through the menu. I love this place. The food is wonderful and the service is good. My favorites are the Greek salad- full of ripe tomatoes, cucumber, onion, bell pepper and feta, spanikopita and the baklava. Dont skip the Greek coffee, but DO ask for a smaller amount of sugar in it.
This place is on my short list!!

Helpful?
Thank Djevojka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    72
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are visiting New York on pure vacation. Trying a variety of restaurants, delis, pizzarias etc is one of our favourite pastimes. Anassa did nor disappoint. Not only was the service prompt, the food was delicious. For appetizers grilled sardines and Tuna tartare followed by a swordfish kebab and a filet of salmon with spinach rice. All of it cooked to perfection (or sliced and seasoned in the case of the tuna). It is busy, the tables are relatively close to each other and the funky beats are quite loud (I enjoyed the dj's choices), but I found all in all this just adds to the great atmosphere. Would certainly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Aybee13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Taverna opposite Bloomingdales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Came across Anassa Taverna whilst walking around from 1st Avenue across Upper East side to Bloomingdales one day. Booked for Sunday dinner, which was recommendable in the end as it was full when we showed up.
Great menu and wine list, lots of choice. Biggest portions we've seen in some time at an establishment of this standard. Great tasting food also, importantly. Extremely happy with this choice of venue, will go again next time in Manhattan. Great atmosphere and decor too.
Takis from Rhodes was our genial waiter. Anyone who is served by Takis will be well looked after for sure. Well done Takis and thanks for looking after us well!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeenaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great appetizers, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went to Annassa because it is located just opposite Bloomingdales and we were looking to grab a quick bite and take a break from they day's shopping routine. The location is just great if you are looking for an alternative to the standard fast food options.

We found the appetizers to be interesting as well as tasty. We were a group of vegetarians and although the choices were limited, what they had to offer was enough for our group of 4. Specially recommended are the Mediterrenean Spreads and Saganaki (salty but yum!).

The salads were pretty standard. We avoided the main course as we still had some shop trudging left to do and we did not want to end up feeling lazy.

Will go there again when I am next in Bloomingdales around lunch time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Casual Greek Close To Bloomingdales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went there for lunch because we were in neighborhood. Remembered when Yellowfingers, a well-known watering hole, used to occupy that spot. I had no particular expectations, but the food was excellent. I had delicious mushroom soup and Mediterrenean spreads. Service was great. I will definitely return when I am in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anassa Taverna also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Anassa Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing