We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience -- dinner and a show”
Review of Malbec House - CLOSED

Malbec House
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Astor Place
Transit: (Listed from nearest to furthest): 6 train to Astor Place N or R train to 8th St/NYU 6 train to Bleeker St B,D,F,M to Broadway-Lafayette 4,5,6,L,N,Q,R to 14th St/Union Square
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our night at Malbec. First we had dinner upstairs and were able to reacquaint ourselves with excellent Argentine cuisine and wine. Then we went downstairs for a very professional and energetic tango show. It's a bit pricey but well worth the splurge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kaydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbpose, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Malbec House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Kaydc, thank you very much for your attention to details. Malbec is unique and authentic in its kind. Our Chef has incorporated some delicious Argentinian recipes. We will be more than happy to welcome you back at Malbec to enjoy the new items on the menu. The best way to get updates is by following us on Facebook, twitter or Instagram. Your review means a lot to us as it helps us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a business dinner here in January 2014. The waiter made a great suggsiton of having 2 types of Malbecs so we could see the difference. I had the pre-theatre dinner, which included an appetizer, entree and dessert. The entrees were a little slow to arrive but my steak was wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2Texas_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbpose, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Malbec House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear 2Texas_Travellers, thank you for your evaluation.

Malbec is proud to house a restaurant and theater that every night transports guests to another time and place. Quality food and affordability are our priorities. We hope you can come another time to taste some of the new Wines.

Tango House Lounge is also a great option for cocktails and small bites after work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The real stand out of this place is their amazing wine list - just spectacular. The service was very good, and the staff knew their products and wines well. The menu is concise, so dining decisions were easy. The food was typical of good quality South American restaurants. The flan was very good - not too heavy, great flavours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GavinNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbpose, Public Relations Manager at Malbec House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear GavinNicole, Thank you so much for your rating, our sommelier and staff worked very hard in trying to have one the best wine selections in NYC, we hope to have you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We literally stumbled onto the Malbec Wine Bar and Restaurant while wanderiing through New York. The restaurant was closed at the time, but we were intrigued by the Tango Bar that is associated with the restaurant and called to make reservations for the following Wednesday. We had a great experiance. The person taking reservations was friendly and efficient. The serving staff was also friendly and efficient and knowledgable. They paired a Malbec that seemed to go well with our four orders. I had the Cod..and it was one of the best fish plates I have tasted. Following dinner we caught the tango performance in the Tango House which is conveniently downstairs from the restaurant. The speed and precision of the dancers was amazing and the accompanying musicians and singers were very strong as well. A great evening and New York experiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RussandJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbpose, Public Relations Manager at Malbec House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear RussandJohann, we really appreciate your rating and opinions, its important to us that you have enjoyed our whole package of Dinner and a Show so Much. Hope to have you again Soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

First we enjoyed the Tango show, which was really good. The dancers were great and the live orchestra was excellent!! Amazing atmosphere as well!! I really recommend the show.
But here is the best part! After the show, me and my wife had dinner upstairs and WOW!! The wine selection was huge! A knowledgeable and helpful sommelier helped us choosing the wine. They have a selection of near 200 wines from Argentina. After that, the meat was excellent!!
I really recommend this place, I was really satisfied about all of it!

I'm so glad that we chose this restaurant/tango show as one of our special nights in NYC!!! I would deffinetly go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hernan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbpose, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Malbec House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Hernán S, Muchas Gracias por tu opinión, significa mucho para nosotros, te esperamos nuevamente cuando gustes en nuestra casa. Malbec House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malbec House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing