We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty filling comfort food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of S'mac

S'mac
Ranked #1,554 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Salford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty filling comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

During an extremely cold February we called in after a full day of walking and museum exploring.

We arrived around 6:30 and the place was already very busy. After a few minutes of menu reading we ordered then loitered for a few minutes then found a table.

We were told there was a few minutes wait, and after around 20 minutes the food came. The plastic knifes and forks were a bit of a negative though.

The food was good, hot, tasty and filling. The cheese sauces were rich and the pasta well cooked. Overall, a good hot dinner in a busy little cafe.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth_NichG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    78
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Mac n' Cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

First of all if you're looking for a filling, well cooked & tasty quick bite that will fill you up but not break the bank, this place is well worth a visit.

The place is self-service, you order at the counter & your food is then brought to your table if you are sitting in. As it was my 1st visit I went for the 2nd sized dish, thinking that was a reasonable choice, it was alot bigger than expected & I did not finish it. The food arrived quickly & was burning hot, a little greasy I would say however with what looked like oil bubbling away on top & around the edges of the dish. I went for the chicken & bacon Mac, it was good once it had cooled down a little. It was Mac n' Cheese, just as you'd expect & was well worth the money (around $15 for medium size & a soft drink). Gluten free pasta is also available, which was also nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Carb Overload! Cheesy good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were totally unprepared with ordering. I had pre-conception of feasting on lobster mac & cheese but it wasn't a choice. I was overwhelmed by choices. You should study the menu before you go to decide. We chose a sampler....not really enough for 4 to sample. And also got two muchos (1 cajun & 1 like pizza). It was plenty of food because you carb overload. Very tasty. I would have added some meat or chicken & maybe a veggie one. Felt a lil nauceous...too much cheese & carbs. Don't usually eat like that. Place was more like a takeout place with seating. Clean and people that worked there were friendly. Even let us sample beer choices before ordering. Glad we tried it, but don't expect to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debdoodleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
339 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“AMAZING if you love Mac and Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was in heaven when we came here for lunch, as there was so many cheesy options! This place is great for everyone as it accommodates vegans, vegetarians and carnivores. You can make your own or chose from one of the options they give you. I ordered the four cheese and added broccoli, it was amazing. The crunchy topping is fun, and the pasta is perfectly cooked. We ordered the 'nosh' size, and it was plenty for lunch. I had trouble finishing as it is quite heavy (lots of dairy and carbs YUM). It's wasn't busy at all when we went, and they brought out food out very quickly. Quite inexpensive too for New York standards. However, we warned they really don't offer anything other than mac and cheese so don't bring friends here who hate mac and cheese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I purchased a Groupon for a dear friends birthday who loves Mac and cheese and we were both pleasantly surprised.

The choices to add different food group to the Mac and cheese was interesting and actually pretty tasty.

The 33rd location was clean and the employees where helpful with explaining each dish. It was crowded with families and couples sharing a large dish of just Mac and cheese... Who would have ever thought.

Helpful?
Thank Phlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S'mac also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to S'mac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing