We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let someone use my room after I had checked in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The High Line Hotel
Ranked #76 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a crazy experience here. I checked in, unpacked most of my stuff, and went out for a few hours. I came back and the room door was open. Surprised, I go in, and find a used towel on my bed, coffee container on my nightstand, etc. I immediately go to the front desk, and they say, "oh, We didn't realize someone was using that room so we let someone use it for a bit. We'll get you another one." ... They were nice enough, but no one seemed surprised in the least. Bizarre bizarre experience.

In other news, the rooms themselves are actually quite cool. Similar style/feel as the Bowery hotel, but newer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sujayjaswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The High Line Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear sujayjaswa,

I first would like to sincerely apologize for the experience that you encountered during your recent stay with us. I will definitely share this review with my team members . Please feel free to contact me so that I can get your feedback details and address this issue. You can reach me via email : jcollins@thehighlinehotel.com . Thank you for staying with and please let us make it up to you for your next visit.


Best Regards,


Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 676 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed there for a week and honestly the hotel itself has full potential to be a hot spot! It's front yard is great for coffees and its bar is full of fashionable hip crowds! No food is served but the pastries are very nice. Rooms are comfortable and the beds are extra super soft - if you like sleeping on feathers!!!
The location is very convenient with lots of zagat highly ranked places in the area. But...the main issue here is the noise! For a week I didn't get a days sleep!!! It's not not the location though, it's the building itself. We asked to be moved the first night and the staff happily did give us a new room but still chaos!! It is such a shame as the hotel is very recently renovated and it is obvious that no attention was paid to noise insulation. We were staying on the second floor and I could hear what people downstairs were talking about.

I don't know if I would go again or recommend it to anyone. If they could guarantee a quiet room then I would have no second thoughts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva-cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The High Line Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Eva-cyprus,

We appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. Please know that we take all of our guests concerns very seriously . As you may know, we just opened our hotel a few months back and currently still making improvements along the way until our official opening. The great news is that we will have a indoor/outdoor bar out on the back patio, room service and more coming soon! We hope for your return and hope that you will let us make up to you on your next visit.


Best Regards,


Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a great location if you want to explore Chelsea and the High-Line. The interior rooms face a nice courtyard although there is construction on one side for new condos. It's a beautiful historic property and the rooms are nicely appointed and seem generally clean, though a few spots needed some more attention. The main problem was check-in. When I made the reservation I asked for a room on an upper floor away from the elevators facing the courtyard. So what did I get? A room on the second floor right near the coffee bar and the elevator, plus facing the street. I could hear every clink of every spoon stirring a latte at the coffee bar. The staff was very accommodating when we asked to move and put us in a higher room facing the courtyard. Much improved.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the courtyard (if nearby construction has ended) are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4ontheroadMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The High Line Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear 4ontheroadMD ,

Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. As you may know we opened our hotel several months back and will continue to make improvements along the way however we would love for you to come back and stay with us and give us another chance. We hope to see you soon.


Best Regards,


Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and booked my room through Jetsetter and received a promotional rate of $229/night for a Deluxe King. I was given a room on the ground floor, almost directly across from the Intelligentsia Coffee bar and just steps from the front desk. Initially, I was worried about the street noise, as my windows were right on 10th Avenue. Street noise was not the problem, but the noise from the coffee bar and the front desk staff was quite annoying. At midnight, the front desk staff were laughing and yukking it up and I could hear every bit of it. The lobby is tiled with no textiles to absorb the sound - terrible. In addition, the young boy who showed me to my room clearly was uncomfortable and had a difficult time explaining the room features. The room itself was quite pretty and the bed was very comfy. Unfortunately, there is no clothing storage space to speak of. The closet rod was about 8 inches long and with 2 hotel robes already hanging there, there wasn't room for anything else. There are also no hooks in the bathroom for robes, etc. Phone didn't work, had no hot water before 8am. I understand that they are still working things out and if you can get the $229 Jetsetter rate, then I would stay there. Unfortunately the current room rate is well over $500 and the hotel is just not worth that.

Room Tip: Do not, under any circumstances accept a room near the front desk or the coffee bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The High Line Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear CaliforniaLori ,

Thank you for providing your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. Please know that our hotel is new as we just opened several months back and currently we are making improvements along the way. We hope that you will accept our apologies and we hope that you will give us a chance to make your next stay better .


Best Regards,


Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

During its first days of operation challenges, this hotel staff met the mark. After a long and difficult trip to NYC, we arrived early and were immediately shown to a room which was larger than the one we'd booked. The decor is interesting, dark and restful, reflecting the origins of the building.
It is a little disconcerting to arrive at a hotel with no reception however, the staff was attentive and thoughtful, and we were shown to our room within minutes of our arrival. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, if you admire the charm of an old residence. There were quirky selections of furnishings as well as luxurious linens to enjoy.
The location is perfect for a visit to the high line, as well as to shops and galleries in Chelsea. A visit to this hotel is more like a quick trip to Europe with all of the sensibilities of a bygone era.

Room Tip: First floor rooms can present a challenge with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The High Line Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Antonia M ,

Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. To address your concern in regards to no reception desk , we wanted to provide a unique service delivery and not have barriers between the associates and our guest. We use iPads and high tech communication devices in order to make the guest experience more efficient. We would love for you to come back to stay with us so that you can see all of the improvements we have made since your last visit.


Best Regards,


Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Beto135711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 110ingridj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at The High Line Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#151 of 471 in New York City
2,960 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#133 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 471 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#94 of 471 in New York City
1,059 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 471 in New York City
3,515 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 471 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The High Line Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The High Line Hotel

Address: 180 10th Ave, at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011-4707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $298 - $804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The High Line Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our conveniently located Chelsea hotel near The High Line. Each of The High Line Hotel's 60 rooms evoke a bygone era of a graciously decorated guesthouse. As our guest you'll enjoy staying in our light-filled rooms featuring beautiful hardwood floors and one-of-a-kind locally sourced furniture. Over-sized beds with crisp cotton linens provide a perfect night's sleep, and plush robes invite you to relax after a long day. All rooms feature large windows offering dazzling views of the High Line Park or our enclosed private-garden oasis. Guests are encouraged to dine at Alta Linea, Italian aperitivi and al fresco dining along The High Line or enjoy a perfectly brewed espresso prepared by our Intelligentsia Coffee & Tea baristas in the lobby. Sip your espresso at the bar, get your latte to go, or take your freshly brewed pour over coffee to the back courtyard for a moment to yourself. In the evening, grab a glass of wine and enjoy a beautiful night under the stars in our Parisian inspired garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The High Line Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing