We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paleo and gluten-free heaven!”
Review of Hu Kitchen

Hu Kitchen
Ranked #977 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Description: A high-quality, low-processed, real food casual kitchen and market, featuring paleo-inspired fair. 100% gluten and dairy-free (except milk and grass-fed butter in our coffee-bar)
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Paleo and gluten-free heaven!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Love this place! Had the hu joe and the wild meatloaf with the rotisserie pineapple and roasted broccoli. Everything was so full of flavor. Their grain-free hu bread is delicious as well and a paleo blondie and watermelon water (I was hungry!). Definitely will put this place on my regular stop list. It's a great pick for paleo and gluten-free eaters!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Paleo Spot!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have a pretty strict diet due to allergies and this place went above and beyond to make sure that all my needs were met. I was so appreciative of the time that was given to me to make sure that I was fully satisfied and comfortable with my order. I was so thankful my wife and I sat down to eat at this fine establishment! Thank you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrKdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Love this place! It's a pay for food then sit wherever you want type of place. But great breakfast sandwiches and an array of healthy treats and drinks. Definitely wish there was one in Colorado!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paleo Dream! Great food; but lose the 'tude!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Paleo palace! If you're looking for nutritious, delicious food to satiate your inner cave-person, Hu Kitchen is where it's at! If you're up for a challenge, the Diesel Parker will stuff your gut with goodness. Get ready to open the belt and move it out a notch. That said, also get ready to open your wallet (quality ingredients and preparation come at a cost $$$) and also get ready for some dick-erdly service. That's right. Dick-erdly. The ladies that work here are all courteous and cool; but the guys (hey grill, I'm lookin' at you!) - ease up. You're not bouncers, and your customers aren't the enemy. You're in a service industry. Chill. 5 stars for the food; demerit for the price and attitude.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Loves_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost forgot that this is a paleo place”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The setting is very similar to the like of Dean and DeLuca. The exception is that they serve all things paleo. As somebody with no dietary restrictions, I'm only going to Hu Kitchen because my wife has a lot of dietary restrictions. But the food is actually pretty good. For the most part, I don't even miss my non-paleo ingredients. It is a nice healthy spot for all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SofandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hu Kitchen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hu Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing