We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Örebro, Sverige
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed five nights at this hotel and I must say it was one of the best hotels I've stayed at for a long time. The room were spacious and had everything I needed including comfortable bed, coffee maker, AC and safety box. Since the hotel is quite new everything was spotless an clean. All of the staff were kind and most helpful. We stayed at the sixteenth floor and we could'nt hear any noise from the busy streets down below. Also, the hotels sits close to almost everything. You have walking distance to many attractions and sights. If you need to use the subway Penn station is just a few blocks away. The only negative I can think of is that the lobby gets quite chilly when it is cold outside. But that is just a minor problem since you spend most of your time in the busy New York city and the nights in a comfy bed in your room.

Thank You very much New York, CbM NY TSW and staff for a perfect holiday. I hope to see you soon again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. I do believe our hotel team is one of the best in New York. They always provide excellent service to exceed guest expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    394
    70
    18
    19
See reviews for
319
319
49
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

3/6/2014

I received an email from the GM of this property to ask me about my experience during my stay. I don’t usually respond to emails that, but felt compelled to do so in this case.

I wrote that this property has a special flare, and stands above other Marriott properties. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful – front desk, cleaning staff & restaurant staff. It was noticeable, and I appreciate it.

I travel usually every week for work, and it’s nice to feel like a “friend” when you walk in the door, and are greeted by everyone. This doesn’t just happen by accident. The work that the management team at this property is doing, the leadership they are providing, is making a difference. I applaud them to keep it up! Well done!

As a leader in my company, I admire when an organization accomplishes what this team is doing. It’s hard work to get an entire team to do what they are doing. I aspire to emulate many of the traits I recognized as a customer at this Marriott property.

I will stay here again. I recommend you do as well. Comfortable, clean, reasonably priced, pleasant staff, good workout facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels4workalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for the email and taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. I will definitely share your feedback with our Staff. We take great pride in providing great service to all of our guests here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. It was a pleasure having you back at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Three of us stayed in Times Square West for three nights. The hotel room was nice with two queen beds, flat screen TV, safe, and a spacious and modern bathroom. Although our room wasn't ready until after check-in time, Patrick apologized and provided us with vouchers for a free breakfast at the bistro. That was the only time we dined in the bistro but the breakfast was quite good. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially the bellman Adan. Not only was he helpful with our luggage and locating a taxi, he was very personal which made us feel welcome. The hotel is conveniently located to Penn Station, Times Square and the subway entrance on 35th and 8th. You can't go wrong with the Marriott Courtyard Times Square West!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 9th floor facing 38th St. We didn't have much of a view as we faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashDCvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as a Guest of our hotel. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing excellent service that exceeds guest expectations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was the second time that my fiancee and I stayed here, and both times it was a great experience. The location is perfect (just 4 blocks from Penn Station and 2 blocks from the subway), the furnishings are new and modern, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the prices are very reasonable for Midtown. If you like a lot of space, this place may not be for you: the rooms are on the small side. But we both really enjoyed it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are happy to hear you are a repeat Guest of ours. We are happy to hear both of your stays were a positive experience. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great front desk service. Very nice room... although it was typical NYC size. The hotel was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was expensive but delicious. While I highly recommend this hotel, I have two negative comments: (1) Parking was a pain: it is off-site and not run by the hotel; (2) the housekeeping staff were exceptionally loud in the morning... literally yelling from one room to another having a 30 minute conversation... until my wife crawled out of bed, walked into the hall and asked them to shut up. That said, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CANYOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us. It is through feedback from our Guests where we can find room for improvement in our operations. Please accept our apologies for the noise in the hallway from our Housekeepers. I will share this with our Executive Housekeeper so this does not occur again. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Best hotel we've stayed in in New York! Clean, comfortable, quiet, good location. And the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I didn't get names for everyone we interacted with, but Brendan in the Bistro and Don and James at the front door were friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding our service and Staff. I will share your feedback with Brendan, Adan, James and the rest of our Staff. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this new hotel. Great and friendly staff, especially the doormen who were always willing to help and give us tips of where to go. Nice bedrooms and no noise at all, so a perfect place for a good night. Breakfast is very good and the girls are so friendly and helpful, every morning we had breakfast over there, unfortunately we did not find the evening menu that fabolous. It is a small menu so not bad when you're not planning to go out for the night.
We will be going there next year for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamMaessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing excellent service here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing