We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #157 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during Christmas week. The hotel, which is very new, is exceptionally clean, bright, and cheerful. The rooms, furnishings, bath, and beds were excellent. I don't understand why some people are saying the rooms are small. They are a good size for a New York City hotel. The staff, including front desk, and housecleaning, are very pleasant, helpful, and efficient. Location is excellent, within a short walking distance from the subway, Macy's, and Times Square. They even have washers and dryers available for use by guests. The price is very fair in comparison with other hotels in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Our Staff and I appreciate all the positive comments regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. With all the hotels in New York City, we appreciate that you chose our property for the Holiday season. Happy New Year to you and your family and we look forward to seeing again in 2014.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the Courtyard at Times Square West. The room was exceptionally clean. The view was good. The staff were very helpful, professional, and courteous. Located just blocks from Times Square and Herald Square (Macy's). Forget the higher priced hotels, stay here!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank GaHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are happy that you chose our property during the Holiday season. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good location just a couple of walking short blocks from Times Square. Room was a little smaller than a normal Marriott room, but aren't most living spaces small in NYC? It was clean & adequate & safe. No room with a view, but apparently from from other reviews, if you get the right room floor & facing, you can get some awesome views . We only spent a short amount of time in the room anyway. Spend most of the time exploring the sights & city. I don't see why people gave the hotel negative reviews. It was my first trip to NYC, so I have nothing else to compare it to. It's not a 5 star hotel, but I have no complaints either.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwagnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Our central location in Midtown Manhattan is why many Guests choose our property. We are glad to have you stay with us during this holiday season. Thank you for the positive comments and we hope to see you again at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

When my teenage son and I checked into this hotel after 4pm, we were told that our room was not available because the housekeeping staff was behind schedule. We were offered another size room and were told that the price just was reduced. My son said ok. We went to the room. Very nice. Shortly afterwards, I told my husband about the change in room and he said, "absolutely not! we'll wait until our booked room is available." I went to the front desk, leaving my tired teenager in the room and explained our situation. That we will wait for our original room to become available. I asked if my son should leave the room where he was resting and the manager said,"No, your son is tired.He can stay there until your room is available."Ten minutes later we told that our room was available. New room was fine - hotel was fine. Invoice arrived and we were charged the reduced rate of the OTHER room, the one we did not take. Apologies for our inconvenience. Excellent customer service in all other ways too. Location was the best! The way they handled is was great - we were not looking for a rate reduction, just our original room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Please accept our apologies for not having the room you reserved when you arrived at our hotel. I am glad to hear our Staff was able to accommodate your concerns for the problem you encountered. We are happy to hear you and your Son enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated rooms and nice location for a NY get away. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are spacious. Only hassle is the time it takes to get your car from valet is lengthy. But that's typical for manhattan hotels. Standard Marriott quality.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Maya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our new property during the holiday season. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are a new hotel that opened in May of 2013 and our Staff takes great pride in providing the kind of service that exceeds Guest expectations. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Short and to the point. The hotel was very clean because it was new. Staff was great. Unf I had a room facing the street and it was very loud all night. And sooner or later they should give you a complimentary bottle of water.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. It is through comments and suggestions from our Guests where we could find room for improvement in our services. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in receiving a noisy room facing the street. Please let me know when you are returning to New York and I will make sure you receive an upgrade to higher floor and a quieter room. We are happy to hear our Staff provided excellent service during your stay.


Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Normally you can't go wrong with a Court Yard and this one is right there too. I was told it's a new property and it shows. Very clean and tastefully decorated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful which in NY is sometimes lost. The staff here is top notch.

If there is one very minor gripe is the rooms were a tad small even for NYC. But you're only there to sleep so it wasn't too much of an issue.

Centrally located and very reasonable makes this one a winner!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cupcardriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your great stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Staff and I take great pride in providing exceptional service to exceed Guest expectations. I will share your comments with our entire Staff and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,463 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#230 of 469 in New York City
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#112 of 469 in New York City
876 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 469 in New York City
764 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $198 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing