We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel was excellent. Loved it!!! Came during thanks giving holiday. Great location between Times Square and Madison Garden. Staff friendly and accommodating, would recommend this place to my mother, and I love my mother.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting New York and choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West for the Holidays. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the services from our Staff. I will share your comments with our Staff. We hope to see you again for the Holidays.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    415
    75
    22
    22
See reviews for
338
333
57
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This courtyard was nice in the lower Times Square area. it has the updated restaurant for meals and the food was very good and the staff very friendly. The rooms are really typical of Mid-Tier Manhattan- not very large but still come with all the amenities you need. The beds were very comfortable which made for great sleep! I would certainly return for another trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattylenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlk2013, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West.. We are glad to hear you had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This ihotel is a real disappointment. The rooms, while new are incredibly small even by New York standards. I have been in cruise ship cabins that were roomier. Despite being new, the room was poorly designed and maintained. The heater was malfunctioning, the in room refrigerator non functional, and the shower leaked. What makes this more unfortunate is that the staff was terrific and very helpful (despite the physical shortcomings of the rooms). The location is good close to subways, the Theater District, Penn Station, the Garment Center, Bryant Park, etc. I should mention that I am a Marriott Platinum cardholder, so I was assuming the normal standards for Marriott properties.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUVARAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. It is through comments from our guests that we can find room to improve in our operations. Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered with the heater, refrigertor, and shower head in your room. I hope these issues were taken cared by our Staff during your stay here. If you should decide to return in the future, please contact me directly so I can offer you a discount and upgrade on your next stay.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend -- it's located on 37th Street West and 8th Avenue. Three blocks from Penn Subway Station and five blocks from the 42nd Street Subway Station. It was a great location, not right in the middle of things, but perfectly fine. The room was great, the staff extremely nice, good food and great housekeeping service. We rode the subway all weekend with a $31 7-day unlimited Metro Card. I wasn't sure how much we would use the subway but we rode it many times each day and didn't take a single cab except to and from LaGuardia. The only confusion was express versus local subways -- ask your hotel to explain how to tell the difference on your map. The Macy's Day Parade was really fun -- we meant to get up early but didn't and arrived at 67th St and Central Park West about 8am for the parade at 9am. We did have people in front of us but we had a decent view. My teenage kids didn't realize though that we wouldn't see any of the performances there -- they must have performed on TV farther down. A stool or milk carton to sit on would have been nice while waiting -- smart folks got there early and sat on steps or windowwells or other things. Someone walked by selling stools for $15, 2 for $25, but it was too late to be worth it. After the parade, use an app to find a public restroom. The Starbucks we went to closed their bathroom, which I didn't appreciate. However the line would have been forever. Highly recommend Jane Restaurant and the Radio City Xmas Spectacular. We had no safety problems at all even after dark. People were really nice and helpful. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West for your Thanksgiving Weekend. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We will share your positive comments with our Associates and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Tabor, VT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel was modern and immaculately clean. The most outstanding thing about this property, however, was definitely the service. We interacted with staff on every shift over a few days and did not encounter even one slightly unhappy or unprofessional individual. Everyone was eager to serve and help in ways we did not even ask for. The front desk person provided my teenage daughter with a map and advice for the younger traveler, the bellman offered to arrange cabs, provide directions, store bags, etc. before we could even request services. Bags were picked up and delivered to our room at lightning speed both at arrival and departure. Food was a bit expensive though not outrageous and quality was excellent. We also really liked that the rooms had two queen beds rather than the double beds that are common in this price range in NYC. My husband is tall so double beds annoy him.

The one downside of this hotel would be for travelers not familiar with the area. This hotel is not in Times Square and the location is slightly shady though not terrible. The tremendous upside of this location is that it is fairly convenient to Times Square and also to Penn Station.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Wow, we are happy to hear your great comments regarding our Staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We take great pride in providing excellent service that exceeds guest expectations. I will definitely share your comments with our Staff, so they know they did a great job. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New York City.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my first time to NY but not my husbands as he travels there for work. Unfortunately he can't compliment where he stays anywhere near to the extent he could the Courtyard by Marriott 37th street, NY. All staff we encountered were VERY helpful & courteous, rooms were clean & modern, power points everywhere which is just as handy to the holiday traveller as it is the business one these says. Great location & affordable & close to plenty of restaurants/deli's/convenience stores. I look forward to staying again on our next visit to NY.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West as your hotel to stay at on your first trip to New York. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the services from our excellent Staff. We hope you enjoyed New York and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our City.

Best regards,


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Last week my family and I took our first trip to New York City and stayed at this hotel for 5 days and nights. We were all very impressed and happy with the excellent service we received from the staff and our hotel stay; we felt the need to share our experience with others.

From the moment we stepped out of the car we were met with a friendly smile and a warm greeting from James DeLos Reyes the doorman (who later was the same person who brought up our bags very quickly and kindly). He made us feel very welcomed and comfortable like we were just at home. Being from Hawaii, we thought we wouldn't find great hospitality here in a crowded, big, busy city but we found it here at this hotel. Every day and night we were there, we felt the same way we did when we first arrived up until the last remaining minutes before we checked out.

The room is a bit smaller as compared to other rooms by Courtyard Marriott but that is expected in New York City. The size was still comfortable and it was very clean and modern. It really had everything that we needed. I also loved and appreciated that there were a few places to chit chat with friends and family in the lobby area, as well as watch a little TV, a study area to look over the map and make itenerary plans of the city, as well as a computer and printer where guest can work, browse online, print documents, etc. This was very helpful for us to plan out a trip we would never forget.

Staying at the Courtyard Marriott in New York Times Square West will truly be an experience my family and I will never forget. Now, every other hotel we stay at will always be compared to this hotel. Actually after this trip we stayed at The Venetian in Las Vegas, Nevada and I must say was very dissapointed with their service. The suite looks gorgeous but it didn't quite live up to the experience we had at this hotel and therefore our stay there was just regretful. I most definitely do recommend staying here at the Courtyard Marriott NYTS West. You won't regret it! =)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennica Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for all the wonderful comments regarding our hotel and Staff here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are glad you had a wonderful and memorable experience as a guest at our hotel. It was nice to hear that you compared our service to that warm and hospitable service from your home state of Hawaii. Your comments will be shared with our Staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#233 of 467 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 467 in New York City
745 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
844 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 467 in New York City
637 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing