We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly better than expected!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Being on 37th St ... initial thoughts were noisy room from the street below ... not, quiet and comfortable room. Staff was extremely friendly .. from the moment we pulled up to the front door abd was greeted by the doorman (who remembered us 7 hours later!) ... Front desk personnel attentive and friendly. I

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor ... we were on 26 ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Our Associates take great pride in providing excellent service for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    407
    72
    19
    20
See reviews for
326
324
57
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent 4 nights here at the end of September for a long weekend in NYC. I had originally planned to stay at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square but after seeing the rates, I chose this Courtyard. I'm glad I did!

The hotel is located in the Garment District but it's an easy 3 block stroll to Times Square. After seeing all the people, hawkers and character costumes looking for photo takers we were glad to be in the quiet but convenient location just a short walk away.

There are subway stations within 2 blocks walking north or south, depending on which line you need. The street out front gets a little congested so getting a taxi can be tricky but if you walk over to 8th or 9th ave (depending on which way you're going) you can easily grab a cab.

The hotel is brand new so everything is in new condition. Room was a reasonable size for NYC, even with a king bed. From our 22nd floor window, we had a peek a boo view of the Empire State Building.

Staff were all friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze and Amy was very helpful with a map, directions and suggestions. Every time we encountered a staff member they greeted us warmly and inquired about or stay and if we needed anything at all. Don't know what more you could ask for from a hotel staff.

I'll definitely choose this Courtyard again. Can't beat the location, service and price!

Room Tip: Rooms facing 37th st on high floors have an Empire State Building view. Be careful of the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JFredPhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate all the kind words regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. I am happy to hear all the positive comments regarding Keith and the rest of our Associates. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early October and our stay was fantastic.

The hotel is fairly new with updated amenities, comfortable beds, and nice decor and textures throughout the room. Although the room was small (as most NYC rooms are) it had everything we needed. The bathroom was roomy and the shower was good.

The staff was welcoming, friendly, and energetic at all times. Keith did an excellent job at making our stay smooth and seamless since I had individual reservations for each of the three nights. He was helpful and friendly with any request. I was particularly impressed with the high quality of the housekeeping staff too.

The hotel has a comfortable indoor and outdoor area if you choose to purchase food at the bistro and/or bring back something to eat from outside. It's a great retreat space to get away from the hustle of the city.

The only recommendation I would make to the management is to move the concierge desk as it 1) congests the traffic flow from the front door to the elevators and 2) doesn't provide much privacy in discussing matters with the concierge.

Overall we were extremely pleased. We would return to this hotel anytime we are in the city. Great location, great staff, great room. Top notch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. I am glad to hear Keith and the rest of our Associates provided excellent service. I will share your comments with them. We are happy to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New York.


Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked in without any problems although we were a few hours earlier than normal with an extremely friendly young lady at the front desk. Our room was small but wonderful with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was spotless and the shower a joy.

What I appreciated most about this hotel was that it easy to walk just about anywhere. Although we had breakfast included in our rate, the concierge suggested eating at TickTock diner a couple of blocks away. Lovely!

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher up = better view over Manhattan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 573Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is centrally located close to many attractions. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments and we look forward to your next trip to the Big Apple.

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have been staying at many different hotels other than the Marriott with family and friends and I never seen such great service given from the front desk to the restaurant. But the one thing that stroke me the most was the smiles the positive energy. I stayed with a few friends from Vegas and we truly did enjoy our stay. A young woman in the Bistro buffet Towana greeted me with a warm smile and a good morning for two consecutive days. I was shocked to see her so energized and ready to take on someone who did not have a cup of coffee. I dined in and she made sure my order was just the way i wanted it. She was AMAZING! Thank you! But overall the energy she have is outstanding, professional and outgoing. Also the room service was an A+. Best staff ever! Thank you Marriott I will be there again.

Room Tip: Defiantly will recommend this hotel to friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding our Towana and our entire Staff. Here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West, we take great pride in providing outstanding service to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to your next trip to New York.


David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
180 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Everything was good during our 3-night stay at this centrally located hotel. We heard no noise from either inside or outside the hotel, the room was not huge but well-decorated, clean and comfortable. The bed was excellent, the bathroom large with a good shower, the elevators were efficient and the staff extremely friendly. There is free WiFi and two computers for the use of guests in the lobby.

The hotel is between 8th and 9th Avenue and a couple of blocks from the subway. There are some excellent restaurants just around the corner on 9th north of 37th. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and prices are reasonable with plenty of seating. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced a condo and old industrial building next door but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liplord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It is great to hear you had an "Excellent Experience" at our property. We take great pride in providing that excellent service to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a good option in NYC. The rooms are fairly spacious by New York City standards, and everything is very new and clean (as of Sept 2013). I had a king room on the 2nd floor in the back - no view but completely quiet, which I liked. There was a large chair in the room, which was nice because I had a place to sit while I watched TV (a lot of NYC hotel rooms just have a bed). The work desk was also rather large. Bathroom was good size, but the sink area felt a bit cramped.

I don't think the location is amazing though - it's close to Times Square, but I definitely think of this area as more like Hell's Kitchen. It's on a street with a food cart warehouse so walking down the street in the evening is a bit annoying as you dodge all the carts coming back. 37th Street is also very loud so be prepared if you get a room facing 37th.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are much quieter
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank vdbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York City.

Best regards,

David Lew
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#230 of 468 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 468 in New York City
730 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 468 in New York City
813 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 468 in New York City
580 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#115 of 468 in New York City
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing