We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Ranked #154 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in June and were not disappointed. Our room was incredibly spacious and came equipped with free wi-fi which is quite a luxury for a New York hotel. Everything in the room was brand new and impeccably clean. Our room was next to the elevator but we had no issues with noise from the hall or neighboring rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable and my husband, who experiences back pain, had no issues getting a great night's sleep.

Location wise, this hotel is close enough to Times Square and the Port Authority Bus Terminal/Penn Station to get you anywhere you want to go, but far enough (about four blocks) from the craziness of Times Square in the evenings.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They greeted us each time we arrived back at the hotel from our day out and offered to help us multiple times with activities and tickets for plays and such.

I've stayed at the Marriott Marquis (a four star hotel) and though this is rated only 3 and a half stars, I was equally impressed and satisfied. We will definitely be staying here on our next visit and use the money we saved on theatre tickets and dining in NYC.

Great hotel, our home away from home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

It is really exciting to hear that you consider our brand new Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West, your home away from home! Our Staff takes great pride in going above and beyond in providing great service to exceed guest expectations. Thank you for all the wonderful comments in which we will share with our Associates. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

David Lew
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I hunted through the many travel websites for a great hotel deal in NYC by Times Square and ended up getting a Groupon for this find!

The hotel has only been opened for a month so everything is brand new. The first room we were given was a King that didn't have a sofa bed as advertised but it was immediately remedied. I was very worried about a room right in front of the elevator, but we immediately found out that the room was very quiet and sound proof. The room was spacious compared to other NYC hotels. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Electrical outlets and USB jack is readily available from each side of the bed. There are computers and printers available in the lobby for flight checkins, boarding passes and we used them for reserving and printing tickets to sights and airport shuttle. There is a laundry facility at the basement but it's $4.00 for the washer and dryer each. There is a small fridge/freezer and WIFI was free!

We only ate at the Bistro as a last resort as there are a lot of available restaurants and cafes within walking distance. The buffet was disappointing as we didn't get downstairs until 10AM and the food was picked on. My son ended up ordering a $10 ham/egg/cheese croissant sandwich which he enjoyed very much. I ordered the eggs/bacon/potatoes/toast which was $13. The pototoes were cold (i think they took it out of the buffet) and had to be reheated in the microwave. Small bottle of Tropican OJ was $4. To be honest, our breakfast at McDonald's a couple of blocks away on our way to the Empire State Building was MUCH better. They served Starbucks coffee but we opted for the real deal as there's a Starbucks almost every 2-3 corners.

The location as great. 2 blocks from the subway blue line, 15 minute walk to Times Square and Empire State Bldg.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I did have a small issue with housekeeping. Shampoo/Conditioner/Lotion were not replenished for 2 days. I finally had to call for some.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaTravelBug_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are sorry to hear that some of the amenities were not replaced during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping Staff so improvements can be made in our operations. We are glad to hear positive comments about our Staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

Have a Great Weekend!

David Lew
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

On a family trip to New York, we wanted to stay near Broadway and decided on this wonderful hotel. Friendly staff - always a smile! And accommodating - we had requested an early check-in (noon-ish), and a late checkout (1 pm) and no problem with either, which was greatly appreciated. Hotel is clean and modern. Rooms are large by NYC standards. Our room faced 37th St., but it was quiet at night. Great location - walking distance from so many tourist attractions and food. Great hair dryers! Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandalsnosox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

We are happy to hear your stay was comfortable and enjoyed our friendly staff here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your next visit in the Big Apple.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice hotel very close to Times Sqaure but far enough away that you are not mobbed with people and sounds etc. Very quick walk to Times Square. Asked front desk for food recommendation and she sent us to Schnippers? Sounded like an interesting place, looked even more "interesting" when we got there, almost left... THEN we ordered and it was great. Almost fast food type, but all fresh and the place was PACKED with New Yorkers... you know that is a good sign because they know where to go to eat!!!
All in all, really nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Our Staff often has their meal breaks at Schnipper's. Great food! Thank you for the great comments regarding your stay here at Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We hope the next time you come will be for leisure instead of business.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spend a night in the city to celebrate a birthday and selected this new Courtyard hotel due to its central location and fair price. Right around the corner from Penn Station. Received a 20% discount by pre-paying at time of reservation. Have never been disappointed at a Marriott and this was no exception! The décor was clean, modern and welcoming. The change from a big check in desk to the kiosks brought the staff out in the lobby as you checked in, which we found to encourage friendly conversation. Love the "coffee nook" in the rooms and found it to be larger than most in NYC at this price point. Beautiful courtyard to sit outside for breakfast, but the food didn't match the atmosphere. Might have just caught it at a bad time, but found that to be the only area that needs to improve. Would recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: Any room would be great... we were near the elevator and didn't hear a sound while inside our ro...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

We are honored that you chose the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West to celebrate your Birthday! Thank you for your patronage and your comments regarding our new hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again in the near future.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in mid-June and had an excellent time. The hotel was very clean and all staff were incredibly friendly. The rooms are very well laid out and have everything you need. The hotel did an excellent job with the room decorations. The location is excellent. You are 4 blocks away from the Port Authority Bus Terminal and about the same distance from Penn Station. Times Square, Herald Square and the High Line Park are also pretty close by. We really enjoy walking so it was a great location with quick access to the subway as well. A big plus for us was also the free wi-fi. At the end of the day, sometimes you just want to come back and watch a movie on netflix. This hotel allows you to do that. I don't understand why more hotels don't offer free wi-fi. Anyway, I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go with a higher floor. The hotel is near 8th avenue which is pretty busy during the day. But its...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for all the wonderful comments regarding your hotel stay here at Courtyard Times Square West. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and received great service from our Associates. I will definitely pass along your comments to our Associates. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

David Lew
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am thrilled to have found this hotel. Our stay was wonderful. Everyone there was pleasant, outgoing, and helpful. I visited the hotel with my mother who is 78 and my 3 boys. The staff was friendly and eager to assist us with our needs: taxi's, room changes/additions (our flight was canceled), broadway shows, food choices, laundry, and so much more... The rooms were comfortable, roomy, and quiet for NYC. The Bistro was inviting and served Starbucks coffee-a wonderful surprise. Internet was fast and free - there were lots of opportunity for charging electronics in the room and in the bistro. The rate was very competitive, in fact a senior rate was given (a savings of $50/room). I would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experiences here at the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square West. We are happy to hear that you and your family took advantage of all the numerous amenities our hotel has to offer. I will share your wonderful comments with our Staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York.

Best regards,

David Lew
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#233 of 468 in New York City
1,457 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#227 of 468 in New York City
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#115 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 468 in New York City
758 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West

Address: 307 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-4202 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $194 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Cities Newest Courtyard by Marriott located conveniently to Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, The Fashion/Garment District and world famous Fifth Avenue Shopping. At courtyard by Marriott Times Square West you can enjoy cocktails, breakfast a sandwich or your favorite Starbucks coffee at the Bistro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing