We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like pasta from a chinese restaurant - this is a place for you”
Review of Bottino

Bottino
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,596 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: b/w 24th and 25th Streets
Transit: A and E trains to 23rd Street and 8th Avenue.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you like pasta from a chinese restaurant - this is a place for you”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The dull overcooked pasta was soaking in what appeared to be Campbell's tomato soup, the so called "Proscuitto di Parma" was some sort of chemically cured meat. The tuna tartar was quite good, but the watercress that came with it was too old. On the way out we noticed that all cooks were oriental, nobody Italian to cook Italian food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dougwOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    57
    21
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Had dinner with a few coworkers that flew in from out of town on Thursday Night. Definitely enjoyed the experience. The restaurant is cozy, but has an energy about it. Very attentive and friendly service. As for the menu, the group felt that the the fritto misto and the fettucini with lobster were the highlights. What was also noteworthy was their prices. When you think of dinner and drinks in NY, you expect to pay a fortune. We were pleasantly surprised that the dishes were flavorful and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the sandwiches”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great spot for lunch. They also do take-out, which has been a life saver!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“90 Minute Nightmare on 10th Avenue”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Bottino is one of a lamentable group of restaurants that was hot for a few moments and sadly won't die or fade away. The food is tasteless, floors are rutted and splintered from neglect and the waitstaff is inept.
We drown the bland food in three bottles of Champagne, and tried in vain to catch up with 2 old friends. Plates, for every course, were snatched from under our forks and new, inedible dishes, arrived with
diner-like dispatch, and before we knew it we were presented with our bill, for more than $700, less than half of which was our wine, and were asked, in the same breath, by the manager, to give up our tiny table, for 4, for no apparent reason and found ourselves on the street, angry at our own stupidity.
Go Anywhere Else!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the boar sausage”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were here around midday, and it was busy, which was probably a good sign right from the start. You can get take away food, but we sat down to eat, and ended up staying longer than we'd planned because the food was so good. I think you'd be safe with pretty much anything you ordered, but the boar sausage and the salmon were great, and the spaghetti with clams looked amazing. Service was so-so - not very fast, but not bad considering they were busy. Overall we were happy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottino also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing