We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit to Old World Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acappella Ristorante

Acappella Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Acappella Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,783 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Corner of Hudson and Chamber St.
Transit: The Red Line, 1, 2 or 3, get off on Chamber St. Or any subway that stops on Chamber St.
Description: Sergio Acappella's Northern Italian Cuisine is traditional and created to perfection. Acappella has a classic and fun atmosphere. You and your guest can enjoy signature drinks at their popular mahogany wooden bar. The elegant dining room features tablecloth settings, 16 ft. high ceilings, exposed brick wall, tapestry and their famous over sized portrait of the Duke of Urbino. This is a great place for just a night on the town or a business lunch or dinner.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A visit to Old World Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant was a truly memorable experience. The wait staff treated us individual attention. Food and wine were out of this world. It is expensive, but worth every penny. Definitely will go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmorris897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    19
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go,if u want say u ate where 2 shows for ,"The Sopranos" we're shot. Tourist trap.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Food was very mixed, wine selection limited, service close to rude. They kept pushing a wine, convienently left on the table for us. I asked for a 2009 vintage, told they had no reds and Got a 2006 which they proceeded to pour upside down into a glass water pitcher. Guess no decanters. cannelloni tasted like 3day old crab. Porcini ravioli a and pesto rotini very good. Veal chop had briny sauce w marinated red peppers. Grilled shrimp good. Limoncello tasted liked powdered mix. Dining room mostly empty on a Friday nite. Expect to pay$150/pp. for full dinner w drinks.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dianahh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
166 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found Acappella years ago by accident. Every time we are in NYC we go back. We have never been disappointed. Always great food, attentive staff etc. The wine list is a bit pricey but hey it is New York. Try this hidden gem, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fincastle, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For Italian food stay away from Little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently ate at the Acappella Ristorante, on the corner of Chambers and Broadway, on the lower west side of Manhattan. The service was excellent the tables intimate, and the specials change daily. When you enter you are greeted warmly, and escorted to your table by what seems an entourage. You are provided sparkling water, crostini, and thin slices of grilled zucchini while you wait for your drinks. After you settle in for your drinks, the waiter offers to tell you about the specials, which aare numerous and truly enhance your experience. the first night we tried the sauteed portabello mushrooms, rack of lamb, and dover sole. We were not disappointed. We finished with cappucino and berries flambe. We enjoyed our meal so much we came back the following night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jokool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

As soon as you walk through the door your are promptly and courteously greeted by the friendly staff. They treat you like family! The food is delicious, and they will make you whatever you want, even if it isnt on the menu. The atmosphere is great, the food is great, and the staff is amazing. The food is reasonable, however the wines are a bit pricey with limited affordable bottles. If you are in the area it is a must try. You will not leave disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenV707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acappella Ristorante also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Acappella Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing