We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy soulfood”

Sylvia's Restaurant
Ranked #335 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Harlem
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“yummy soulfood”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

love the soulfood, was not as heavy as I feared it might be. Friendly service, good portions, yummy food, very rich tasting and very good falvoured.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smellycat1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    530
    226
    80
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Might Have Been Better in its Heyday”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

As a lifetime New Yorker, eating at this historically important restaurant was always on my list. To begin the review on a positive note, the prices are very reasonable for a New York City restaurant. In addition, the service was good. My daughter and I were there on a cold and rainy Wednesday night, so that may have accounted for the relatively few diners.

My daughter ordered the fried chicken with collard greens and macaroni and cheese. There is a basket of cornbread on the table for your dining pleasure, and the corn bread is quite good. My daughter was looking forward to the fried chicken as the restaurant is famous for its fried chicken and waffles, but she reported that the chicken breast was very dry. She could not eat the macaroni and cheese because it was very mushy and it looked like it had seen better days. I asked for the meatloaf but was told there was no more. I ordered the Sugar Hill (Harlem's own) beer on the menu but was told they were out of that as well. I finally ordered a smothered pork chop with collard greens and black-eyed peas. The pork chop was tender and the meat came right off the bone. It was indeed topped with brown gravy and onions. The collard greens are very tasty but if you must lower your sodium intake, stay clear. They are tasty because they are very, very salty. The black-eyed peas were tasteless - as if they were just taken out of a can.

I am glad we went because we can now cross this particular establishment off of our list. Sylvia Woods is dead and her children are now running the restaurant. I will never know if the food was better when Sylvia ran the place, but I can only report that if you are in Harlem, peak in, but there is much better food to be had in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelovernewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hasn't skipped a beat!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been coming to Sylvia's for at least 15 years now being I live right next door to NY in Connecticut and the food is always great. With my last visit nothing has changed. The atmosphere was great and the food was even better. If your in the area and love southern food, this is the place for you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Witfame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern American Food”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Sylvia's was a pleasant surprise in the city when I was on vacation. It's more southern American food but beyond amazing. Their catfish bites were yummy, along with the Mac and Cheese and corn bread. Sweet tea was really one of my favorites. It's more grandma's cooking, than something high class.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Des O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great FOOD!!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

When I visit NYC from the DC area I always make sure I stop by here! The food is great! The portion sizes are huge as well. Great value for your money!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhov208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvia's Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sylvia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing