We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing soul food pips Amy Ruth's for first place in Harlem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvia's Restaurant

Sylvia's Restaurant
Ranked #357 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Harlem
Kirkby
Level Contributor
126 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Amazing soul food pips Amy Ruth's for first place in Harlem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Ate here in the early summer, managed to snag a kerbside table with no reservation. The food was superb. Large portions, immense flavours, and prices that would surprise you for the highly prestigious location. Main preference of this place over Amy Ruth's is that the food is just that bit less oily. Great clean taste that doesn't have you worrying about what you're doing to your arteries. The staff are way friendlier than Amy Ruth's too. If you're in NYC make sure you call in at this place - it will give you memories to last a lifetime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PastorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    502
    218
    74
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Soul Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'm French and had no idea what a Soul Food meant.....Now i know! The place is genuine, like the staff and the food served. We had ribs, mac and cheese (macaroni and cheese :)), corn, smothered chicken, and all of those simple dish where a real delight. What a place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yf7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
220 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch sensation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visiting Harlem for Sunday Gospel Service at Greater Refuge Temple, Sylvia's brunch is a must.
We enjoyed Grits, Candied Yams, Ribs (pork and beef) fried chicken and catfish.
The corn bread was delicious.
Our server was fantastic.
We ate outside so we could watch the fancy dress parade down the street and in the line. (be early)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachsideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Soul food when it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The best soul food ever! Placed in Harlem, it's an experience to get here! The food is SOO delicious and they have the greatest beer ever, a Harlem brew. Try it to your fried chicken and mashed potatoes, mac'n'cheese, not forgetting the corn bread!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Majalentzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

While visiting NYC my son suggested Sunday Gospel Brunch at Sylvia's. The food was great as was the service. Best fried chicken I have ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvia's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sylvia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing