We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Neighborhood Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Native - CLOSED

Native
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Neighborhood: Harlem
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Good Neighborhood Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Well-prepared and reasonably priced food and drink that is good for weeknight or weekend. This is very much a neighborhood place, with Harlem's LGBT community at the center.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardNYCChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was a highly original restaurant with a great atmosphere and fantastic music. the menu was different and varied and I could recommend the Moroccan Chicken

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander-v-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Native next door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Atmosphere, quality of food and service. It was also just across the road from where we were staying

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Arleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERMUDA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“service can't get much slower”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Poor service everytime we go to this resturant. It's super duper slow. My husband was really hungry. We told that to the person who seated us yet we sat and watched others who came in after us, order and get served while we still waited.
It was hard to get the attention of the wait staff. Finally we asked and we told curtly, that it would only be five minutes more. About 3 minutes later the waiter came and read our orders back to us- completely wrong and we only ordered one item each. After an hour we were about to leave and suddenly the food arrived.
It was good. But we couldn't bring ourselves to leave a tip and although it was just a block away from where we were staying, we never returned.
If you have time to wait, it can work for you.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Summer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mixed quality, very fair pricing, worth a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stopped by for brunch last weekend. I got the Huevos Rancheros which came with scrambled eggs, salsa, guacamole, black beans, and a green salad over flat bread. The rest of the table got Eggs Florentine, which looked good but were thoroughly overcooked. The staff swapped out their eggs for fresh ones without any problem, but they came back largely overcooked once again.

Needless to say, those who got the Eggs Florentine didn't love their food, but mine was quite good. And he value was strong, about $11 for a massive meal with coffee and salad. Not a bad spot if you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing